Humbled

Original  post  April 25, 2008

As we converse with different individuals, it is inconceivable to think that we would listen to them talk and not respond back.  At a minimum we hope that those we talk to will think about those things we share.  As we interact with God’s Word as preserved in the Bible, we have the privilige to hear the mind of God.  This blog page is an attempt to openly respond to how God is speaking to me through His Word, and to not leave it as an exercise, but to allow it to be truly life changing.  His Word is truly alive.

Hebrews 4:12 (NASB95) 
For the word of God is living and active and sharper than any two-edged sword, and piercing as far as the division of soul and spirit, of both joints and marrow, and able to judge the thoughts and intentions of the heart.
 

April 25, 2008

Dear Family,

I Samuel 2:12-4:22

“Yes Lis, I will do it.”  A few days later passing by the thing I was supposed to do, it still is not done.  Now, I did have every intent to do it, really.  I can not say that I can count the occurrences(or lack of the occurrences, depending on how you look at it) on one hand or two for that matter.  Last night at work, someone asked me to look something up when I had time.  I told them that I would go do it right then.   They told me that it was not necessary, that I could do it later.  I replied that it was necessary to do it at that time.  My past memories directed my actions.

What is greater than my past memories?  We will skip the numerous answers and go to the top.  It is our Creator God’s Words. In our reading today we see how Eli, a Priest in ancient Israel was not completely responsive to God.  He understood the commands of God regarding the priestly responsibilities, but he was unwilling to completely honor them.  His sons were corrupt and were using their positions as priests to their advantage and not in serving God.  Eli made an attempt to correct them, but did not follow through.

1 Samuel 3:12-13 (NASB95)
12 “In that day I will carry out against Eli all that I have spoken concerning his house, from beginning to end.
13 “For I have told him that I am about to judge his house forever for the iniquity which he knew, because his sons brought a curse on themselves and he did not rebuke them. “

Earlier on we saw him speaking to his sons regarding their activity, but they would not listen.  It is apparent that his speaking to them was not enough.  He was in position as high priest to do more than just talk.  But like me so often it was easier to let things slide.  However when you let things slide, good does not come out of it.  Eli and his family died, the ark of the Covenant was stolen, and Israel faced defeat. 

My failure to follow through and do the right thing has led to incomplete projects, failure to see good activities materialize, relationships have been strained with breech of trust, and I can go on, but it is too painful.  Right now I am thinking of a person I need to call.  This individual walked away from a relationship with us.  I made an attempt I thought to see it restored but in light of Eli today, I have not followed through as I should.  It was a meager attempt at best.  How many other situations are there?  How much am I wrestling or struggling in prayer for them? 

(Colossians 2:1 (NASB95)
1 For I want you to know how great a struggle I have on your behalf and for those who are at Laodicea, and for all those who have not personally seen my face, ….)

I need to stop.  It is time to truly listen.  I will talk with you later.

 Humbled,

Steve

Leave a Reply

