Spring Cleaning

Dear Spring cleaners,

Have you done your spring cleaning this year?   For some of us, this is an annual ritual.  Maybe it wouldn’t be so daunting for some if the rest of the year we treated our homes differently.  It is amazing to me to see how quickly rooms or basements can become cluttered without the proper discipline.  I was watching the news last night and saw pictures of a household that I am sure had not ever heard the words spring cleaning before.  Living in, or working in a clean environment is very refreshing, rewarding for me.  So why do I let my desk get cluttered and my chair fill up with clothes?  The truth is it hinders me at times from getting things done efficiently or at all.

 The truth is sin hinders me as well,  and if we are all honest, it affects each one of us.  But we were not the only ones that struggle with clutter in our lives. 

 We read  in the verses below a preliminary decision by Josiah and the people of Judah.

 2 Kings 23:1-3 (NASB95)
1 Then the king sent, and they gathered to him all the elders of Judah and of Jerusalem.
2 The king went up to the house of the LORD and all the men of Judah and all the inhabitants of Jerusalem with him, and the priests and the prophets and all the people, both small and great; and he read in their hearing all the words of the book of the covenant which was found in the house of the LORD.
3 The king stood by the pillar and made a covenant before the LORD, to walk after the LORD, and to keep His commandments and His testimonies and His statutes with all his heart and all his soul, to carry out the words of this covenant that were written in this book. And all the people entered into the covenant.

   Then we see in the following verses the “spring cleaning” that he had done in Judah as a result of his commitment to the LORD and the desire to live in the covenant relationship with the LORD.  Take a look at the rest of the chapter.  There was a lot to clean up!  This commitment to the LORD continued through Josiah’s lifetime, but it was not a guarantee for those to follow.  We see that the very next king decided to follow after himself rather than the LORD, he did evil in the sight of the LORD as did the following king.

 What about you and I?  Is there something in our life that needs to be “cleaned out”?  Are there habits, attitudes, actions that are more of a sign of us conforming to the world than being transformed by the renewing of our minds?  How has your attitude been toward your spouse this week?  Toward your children?  How has your private life been like when no one else is around?  Don’t get on a new kick and say I need to do this and that to change.  Rather, draw near to God and let Him do His work within you.  Allow the life of Christ to live in and through you bringing you to a place you have never been before.  Remember the words of Jesus: John 15:5 (NASB95)
5 “I am the vine, you are the branches; he who abides in Me and I in him, he bears much fruit, for apart from Me you can do nothing.

Or Galatians 2:20 (NIV)
20 I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.

Show me LORD those areas in my life that need your cleansing.  May you have your way in me.  Transform me as only You can.  I want to yield my life to You completely.  May the sin in my life that so easily distracts me, be removed.  Thank you for your cleansing blood!
My desire is to walk with you, and to obey you with all my heart, soul, mind and strength.  Thank you that even though I am unable to do this, you are able to do it in and through me. 

 In Christ alone, 

Steve

Leave a Reply

