Food Lovers

Psalm 119:103 (NIV)
103 How sweet are your words to my taste, sweeter than honey to my mouth!

 

Dear food lovers,

Wow!   The food at UPBC is great.  From the Sunday Sundaes to the Pasta Bar to the Build the Mountain, to the Salad Bar to the Banquet and everything else in between, how can you help not gaining a few pounds?  It seems I always collect at least three pounds by the time I get back home.  Thank you to all the bakers and cooks that would make those rolls and pies and everything else so great!  

 

I always looked forward to eating, and so do a lot of my patients!   I take care of patients all the time that tell me that they do not understand why they gain weight.  They tell me that they eat like a bird.  Well, my research has told me that birds eat about half their weight every day.  So a 150 pound person would eat 75 pounds of food every day if they ate like a bird.  I think I found the problem.

 

When it comes to reading the Bible we usually have the opposite problem, too little time consuming what God has prepared for us.  We are told in Scripture that man can not live on bread alone, but by every Word that comes out of the mouth of God(Matthew 4:4).  Psalm 119:103 reminds us what the Psalmist thought of God’s Word, it was like “honey”.  Ephesians 6:17 tells us that the Word of God is the Sword of the Spirit(we need it both offensively and defensively).  Psalm 1:2 reminds us that we need to meditate on God’s Word day and night.   If we do we will find the nourishment necessary to thrive in this world.

 

It is so easy to let our feeding on the Word slip away.  In the midst of a camp experience you do not think it will happen.  But soon days will go by and there will be no real feeding on what God has for you.  Someone I was reading recently used this phrase:  “No read, no feed.”  He was saying “No reading of the Word of God, then no feeding of the body till I do.”  That may not be possible every day, yet it shows the importance of eating the Words of God that should be in our lives each day.

 

Feed today and let us know what you had to eat!  It is important that we learn to share what we are feeding on.

 

In Christ,

 

Steve 

2 thoughts on “Food Lovers

  1. Good thoughts . . . but you made me hungry! 🙂

    I’m reminded of what Jesus said in John 4, “I have a kind of food you know nothing about” (v.32). Then he told the disciples, “My nourishment comes from doing the will of God, who sent me, and from finishing His work” (v.34). Doing the work God has entrusted to us IS so much more satisfying than any man-made meal. I want to stay hungry for following Him passionately today!

  2. Our enemy so wants us to go for fast food doesn’t he? When tempting Jesus, he wanted him to bypass what the Father desired for Him, to go the “fast route”, the wrong route. Praise Jesus, that He was obedient to the Father, that He recognized that “His nourishment” came “from doing the will of God” who sent Him. I am hungry too, lets continue to point each other to the right “food” line!
    In doing so, we might be used by God to see someone else enjoy the Bread of Life.

    John 6:35 (NIV)
    35 Then Jesus declared, “I am the bread of life. He who comes to me will never go hungry, and he who believes in me will never be thirsty.

Leave a Reply

