Row, row, row your boat

Matthew 4, Proverbs 4 

 

Dear wanderers,

 

Proverbs 4:25-27 (NIV)
25 Let your eyes look straight ahead, fix your gaze directly before you.
26 Make level paths for your feet and take only ways that are firm.
27 Do not swerve to the right or the left; keep your foot from evil.

Some of you have rowed boats before, maybe some of you up at camp.  A few years back, I was rowing a boat with someone beyond my years.  He was in front of the boat, looking to where we were headed.  I was looking backwards and rowing.  We were quite a ways out in the lake, and he would keep correcting me, telling me I needed to go right or left.  I became quite upset inside, thinking that I was able to maintain my direction without his help.  Somehow I remained quiet.  What I have learned since then is that I can get really far off my goal when I am facing backwards.  I am now willing to accept help.

 

In Matthew 4 we see Jesus being tempted by our enemy.  We can thank our Lord for the fact that He was unwilling to take His eyes off of the Father’s plans.  Satan was using his same old tricks, trying to bring doubt into the mind of Jesus, questioning if God the Father’s commands for Him were really right.  He tried to offer Jesus a fast route to having His appetite taken care of as well as a quick return to His place of glory, and then a shortcut to ruling the world.  (Check out Genesis 3:1-6 to see that Satan didn’t change his ways and still operates that way today.  He used doubt, denial and deviation then a he does now.)  Because of our Lord’s unswerving obedience to the Father we can enjoy Life today.  He persevered and made it to the cross.

 

God has plans for us that will glorify Him and allow us to enjoy Him.  A slight change in course, can take us far from our destination.  That course must be directed by the Word of God.  As much as the man in the boat with me knew what was best, God knows so much better the path we should take.  After all, He has made the plans, He lights our paths.  Listen to Him, not the world. 

 

Don’t make the mistakes that Adam and Eve made in Genesis 3:  What are you looking at?  What are you desiring?  Are you making plans to “take” what is forbidden?

 

Find someone in your life, preferably one that has walked with Jesus longer, to help you stay on course.  Do it soon.   Proverbs 27:17 17 As iron sharpens iron, so one man sharpens another.

Prone to wander,

 

Steve

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

