Toll Booth Blues

Readings- Matthew 14, Proverbs 14

Dear travelers,

I was traveling across the Mackinac Bridge a few weeks back, and I got wondering what would happen if you do not have enough money to pay the toll?  Do they send you back across the other way?  Do you have to get out and work in the booth for however long it takes to earn the $3?  Maybe you have to do push ups or simply write an IOU note.  Maybe they will keep one of your kids or family member or friend until you return with some money.  Somebody let me know what happens to you if you don’t have the cash.

Consider the story of Jesus feeding the five thousand in the reading from Matthew 14:13-21.  There were over five thousand hungry people with no McDonalds or Long John Silvers near by.  The disciples had nothing to offer to feed all the people except what they found in the hands of a young boy.  They were ready to send the people away because there was not enough.  Only five loaves and two fish.  Hardly enough to feed five thousand.  Yet in the right hands, that is in the hands of Jesus, it was more than enough.  If you read the Bible long enough you will begin to understand that nothing is impossible for God. 

 

There are many times in my life where I feel I come up short.  I am not qualified to do something or I do not have the experience or the resources.  Sometimes it may be true and I need to rethink what I am doing.  When it comes to other times I believe I need to be more trusting of my Lord.  In the past I was obsessed with what would happen to ME.  Then God started correcting my view of HIM and me.  When I thought I was taking risks and could lose it all, He helped me see I wasn’t losing anything when looked at in the right perspective.  Check it out.  His promise includes that He will never leave me nor forsake me(Hebrews 13:5).   Also, that nothing can separate me from His love(Romans 8:38-39).  Explore the Word yourselves for countless other promises.  So even when everything seems to go wrong, I still have Almighty, Infinite, All Powerful, All Knowing, All Present God present within me(Colossians 1:27).   Maybe there are some accountants or future accountants out there, but my simple figuring comes out something like this.

 

 

 GOD on one hand.

 

     

 

Potential loss of Job, Friends, money, status, health etc. on the other.

                                                                                                                      

I will take God, thank you. 

 

So no matter who you are and what your abilities, just offer your lack to Him and He can do what He wants in and through you.  Try giving your “five loaves and two fish” today.  And see what you are left with.  You will not be disappointed!

 

Loving my “lack”,

Steve

 

 

 

  Go to Time in the Word at the top of the page for the schedule of readings.  Encourage someone with the Word today.  We would love to hear how God is teaching you.  Take a “risk”.

 

One thought on “Toll Booth Blues

  1. Someone told me today that you must give them your driver’s license number and then you have a certain number of days to mail in the money. I can go through the booths with a little more relief now:) I wouldn’t mind working in one of those booths though.

Leave a Reply

