What are you fishing for?

ReadingsMatthew 17, Proverbs 17 

 

Dear family,

I have been out fishing many times, yet I still consider myself a novice.  There have been times when I was using an unusual bait, a rather large lure.  If something would of really hit it, I would have been in for one great fight, or a quick broken line.  The potential great experience was great to think about, but it wouldn’t put fish in the net for the most part.  I would then usually go back to the normal type bait and start catching fish.  We would be doing well, and then at times I would be amazed at the size of a fish I caught while fishing “normally”.  It was during the times I was faithfully using the most common bait, the one that was recommended to catch the most fish, that I caught a “monster”, one I could tell a story about.

The Transfiguration, or the appearance of Jesus with Moses and Elijah on the Mount was a spectacular event in which Peter, James and John were privileged to see the glory of God revealed.  It was a story that they would be sure to talk about.  They heard the voice of God the Father speak: 
5 While he was still speaking, a bright cloud enveloped them, and a voice from the cloud said, “This is my Son, whom I love; with him I am well pleased. Listen to him!” Matthew 17:5 (NIV)

What an experience!  One that they never forgot.  How we often times long for an experience like that.  It would be great to happen, but look at what Peter says in 

2 Peter 1:16-21 (NIV) :
16 We did not follow cleverly invented stories when we told you about the power and coming of our Lord Jesus Christ, but we were eyewitnesses of his majesty.
17 For he received honor and glory from God the Father when the voice came to him from the Majestic Glory, saying, “This is my Son, whom I love; with him I am well pleased.”
18 We ourselves heard this voice that came from heaven when we were with him on the sacred mountain.
19 And we have the word of the prophets made more certain, and you will do well to pay attention to it, as to a light shining in a dark place, until the day dawns and the morning star rises in your hearts.

20 Above all, you must understand that no prophecy of Scripture came about by the prophet’s own interpretation.
21 For prophecy never had its origin in the will of man, but men spoke from God as they were carried along by the Holy Spirit.

Peter acknowledges the wonder of the event on the mountain, but then goes on to speak of the word of the prophets made more certain.  The Word of God was confirmed and shown to be reliable because of this event.  So the listeners of Peter’s time and all of us today, will do well to pay attention to the Scriptures.  All of Scripture was directed by the Holy Spirit.  So rather than waiting for a new word from God, or a vision, or some other manifestation from God, we would do very well by spending time in the WORD.  After all it is alive and sharper than any two edged sword(Hebrews 4:12), and is God breathed(2 Timothy 3:16-17) and profitable for every good work.  If God wants to show you in another way who He is or what He wants you to do, He can do it.  But He has given us His sure revelation in His Word, our Bible, and He wants us to consume it. 

 

 Psalm 119:103 (NIV)
103 How sweet are your words to my taste, sweeter than honey to my mouth!

Will I be upset and refuse God to speak in another way?  No!  But I have no doubt about His Word that He has preserved for you and me.  Let’s continue in it.  How are you doing?  Are you waiting for something that He has already revealed in His Word?  Be faithful and see what He will show you. 

 

Loving the taste of honey,

Steve

   Go to Time in the Word at the top of the page for the schedule of readings.  Taste His Word today.  Share it with someone.

Leave a Reply

