Ready and waiting?

Readings- Matthew 25, Proverbs 25

Dear future wedding guests,

 

I thought that I was prepared this morning.  My alarm was set for 5:45AM as my wife was going to drop me off at a co-worker’s house in town at 6:30AM.  He was going to drop me off at my work early in a town about 25 minutes from our home.  I was up, showered and getting dressed when I realized I did not know where my work key was.  As the time to leave approached I realized that I could not find my key.  My co-worker does not have a key, and he was going that way early because he works out in the local health fitness center.  The code to get in at the office is useless if someone hasn’t first unlocked the door with the key.  So here I am.  I really did not want to sit outside waiting another hour for someone to come in.  It was too late for me to find the key.  Thankfully my wife has the time to bring me over later when someone else has opened up the office.

Matthew 25 reminds us that we do not have that same luxury of being able to get into the Kingdom if we are not ready the first time.  We read of the parable of the ten virgins.  Five were prepared for the bridegroom’s arrival, while the other five did not bring enough oil for the wedding procession.  While they were out searching for more oil the bridegroom came and they missed their opportunity.  When they showed up at the wedding feast, the door was shut.  When they called out, “Lord, lord, open up for us,” His reply was, “truly I say to you, I do not know you.”  In verse 13 we hear the warning,  “Be on the alert then, for you do not know the day nor the hour.”  

Are you ready?  I thought that I was ready to go into work early this AM.  I was wrong.  I do not want you to be wrong about Heaven.  I do not want my neighbors or friends or family to be wrong, nor do I want yours to be wrong.  If you are at peace with God on HIS terms, then praise Him and thank Him today.  If this is not making any sense to you, please ask someone today, write me back, or start reading the Gospel of John in the New Testament of the  Bible.  Don’t wait.  And for those of us that are ready, consider helping those around us to be ready as well.

Listen to these words we read earlier in Matthew.

Matthew 3:1-2 (NASB95)

1 Now in those days John the Baptist came*, preaching in the wilderness of Judea, saying,
2 “Repent, for the kingdom of heaven is at hand.”

 

Matthew 4:17

(NASB95)
17 From that time Jesus began to preach and say, “Repent, for the kingdom of heaven is at hand.

 

 

Ready and waiting,

Steve

 

PS  In reading the rest of Matthew 25 we see the need to be faithful with what God has given us, as well as if we are one of God’s we will be treating others as if they were Jesus.  Enjoy loving Jesus today.  He may be in places you do not like to go.

 

 

Leave a Reply

