Who is the greatest?

Readings- Mark 9, Psalm 6 

 

Mark 9:33-37 (NASB95)

They came to Capernaum; and when He was in the house, He began to question them, “What were you discussing on the way?”
34 But they kept silent, for on the way they had discussed with one another which of them was the greatest.
35 Sitting down, He called the twelve and said* to them, “If anyone wants to be first, he shall be last of all and servant of all.”
36 Taking a child, He set him before them, and taking him in His arms, He said to them,
37 “Whoever receives one child like this in My name receives Me; and whoever receives Me does not receive Me, but Him who sent Me.”

 

 

 

Dear “great ones”,
Have you ever been embarrassed by what you were talking about when someone walks up behind you.  I know that I have walked into situations where people have this look on their face like, “I hope he didn’t just hear what I said.” Sometimes I did, sometimes I didn’t.  This happened to the disciples in today’s passage.  Jesus asked them what they were talking about, and they didn’t answer Him.  They were embarrassed.  He obviously knew what they were saying because of what He said next.  The disciples were discussing which one of them was the greatest.  It is hard for me to believe they were seriously talking about this.  I often have joked around with my kids telling them who is strongest, me obviously, well that was until a couple of years ago.  The more I think about it, men do tend to joke around about their exploits or abilities, but in their minds they tend to believe it.  They are the greatest fisherman, golfer, card player, football player…………………..  We love to compare ourselves with others around us, not to the truly greatest golfer, football player or anything else of all time.

 

After He uncovers the disciple’s discussion on who is the greatest amongst them, we see Jesus place a child in the middle of the discussion and tell the men that whoever accepts that little one, is the one that accepts Jesus,   Whoever wants to be first must choose to care for those who can not give back.  He does not say it is wrong to be great, but that it is wrong to desire to be greater than another.  He called the disciples and you and I to seek to love others who do not have the ability to stand up and shout, “look what this person has done for me!”  That is so often the case when we do something for someone else.  Where is the praise after we do it?  Jesus is telling them to serve in the Name of God rather than in their own name. 

 

We don’t have that problem do we?  We never want to have the recognition for something we do. J 

 

I am so thankful that God chose to love a “child” like me.  How about you?  Who will you and I serve/love today?  Remember, we serve the KING!

 

A child of the King,

 

Steve

 

 

Leave a Reply

