Kicking the wastebasket

Readings  Mark 10, Psalm 7 

 

Psalm 7:1-2 (NASB95)
1 O LORD my God, in You I have taken refuge; Save me from all those who pursue me, and deliver me,
2 Or he will tear my soul like a lion, Dragging me away, while there is none to deliver.

Dear coworkers

 

I was swamped at work, over an hour and a half behind.  I think someone came in and changed all the clocks.  How I got so far behind, I still am unsure. As the nurse was bringing four more charts down the hall in her hand, my response was “Great, now I have four more opportunities to care for and share in people’s lives!”  Don’t I wish!  I turned into the closet and kicked the wastebasket instead.  Actually scared one of the nurses.  I was still smiling and I do not think they realized how upset I was.  Truly, I am concerned about not making people wait long, and I always say I am sorry, but yesterday my flesh was crying out, “poor me!” I was feeling defeated and was not handling it well.  Just now I am  really understanding how much I left someone very important out of my situation. 

 

Psalm 7 gives a clear example of David’s cry (“wild passionate song”) out to God in the midst of his being pursued by an enemy.  It is always encouraging to me to see David’s heart, (which is much like mine, frustrated and defeated at times), be so open with God.  David lets it all hang out.  In verse 17 we see David’s final response of praise to the LORD Most High.  I am sorry to say that I did not have that response last night.  Praise God for His mercies which are new every morning.(Lamentations 3:22-23)

 

Listen to the heart of the Psalm writers.  Lets learn some lessons from them.  When I am in the midst of self pity, may I cry out to the LORD and find my heart being turned to Him rather than my own.  He alone is able.  He is my Rock, and my Salvation.  He alone can calm my heart as it should be.  There is no thing or no one in this world that can truly satisfy my deepest longings.  This will be a constant battle for us, but Jesus ultimately gives us the victory.(Romans 7:24-25)   I look forward to the day that my flesh, my self centeredness will be finally removed, when I will be in His Presence for all eternity. (Revelation 21:1-4)  Now I hope that I will recognize my need more readily and enjoy His Life within me.(Galatians 2:20)

 

Colossians 1:13-14 (NASB95)
13 For He rescued us from the domain of darkness, and transferred us to the kingdom of His beloved Son,
14 in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins.

 

Are you down today?  Let God hear your cry!  I pray that you will find comfort in Him!

 

Not so pretty on the inside,

 

Steve

 

Leave a Reply

