Who’s thinking about you?

ReadingsMark 11, Psalm 8 

 

Dear unworthy ones,

 

Many of you have heard me share this before.  When I was young I struggled greatly with insecurity.  Being afraid to raise my hand to go to the bathroom during class, to doing anything to avoid speaking in front of people, even standing in front of people to be a tree (saying nothing) was so frightening.  Finally at around age 21 I was trying to let my now wife off the hook with this “loser” that she was dating(me).  Instead of discarding me as I thought I deserved, she showed me love.  I was overwhelmed with her response of love and commitment to me.  Who was I that I should experience her love?  My response was one of thankfulness and joy.

 

Psalm 8 expresses David’s amazement at the fact that God who created everything should think of him.

 

Psalm 8:3-4 (NASB95)
3 When I consider Your heavens, the work of Your fingers, The moon and the stars, which You have ordained;
4 What is man that You take thought of him, And the son of man that You care for him?

 

Not only did God think of man, He chose Him to be rule over His creation.

 

Psalm 8:6-8 (NASB95)
6 You make him to rule over the works of Your hands; You have put all things under his feet,
7 All sheep and oxen, And also the beasts of the field,
8 The birds of the heavens and the fish of the sea, Whatever passes through the paths of the seas.Listen to David’s response:

 

 


Psalm 8:9 (NASB95)
9 O LORD, our Lord, How majestic is Your name in all the earth!Not only did He choose man to rule over His creation, God sought to redeem us for His very own, even though we did not deserve it.  Being sinners we deserved the condemnation that was ours.  Destined for Hell, He chose to love us and forgive us and to give us life.

 

 

 

Titus 3:4-7 (NASB95)
4 But when the kindness of God our Savior and His love for mankind appeared,
5 He saved us, not on the basis of deeds which we have done in righteousness, but according to His mercy, by the washing of regeneration and renewing by the Holy Spirit,
6 whom He poured out upon us richly through Jesus Christ our Savior,
7 so that being justified by His grace we would be made heirs according to the hope of eternal life.

John 1:12-13 (NASB95)
12 But as many as received Him, to them He gave the right to become children of God, even to those who believe in His name,
13 who were born, not of blood nor of the will of the flesh nor of the will of man, but of God.

What is your response?

 

Forever grateful,

 

Steve

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

