Did I say that?

 

Readings Mark 15, Psalm 12

 

Dear wanderers,

 

Have you ever said or done anything that you would like to take back?  If I had the opportunity to do some things over, I would choose to.  I think my wife and son would like me to take back some of the things I said at the restaurant the other night.  A few simple questions about the menu.  I may have embarrassed them.  In regards to other things that have had greater significance, I take comfort in  Romans 8:28 (NASB95) :

 

 

 

28 And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose. 

 

 

 

After reading the last couple of chapters in Mark surrounding the death of Christ, I see a few people that would probably like to take their words and actions back as well.  We could start with Judas, the high priest, and the soldiers in chapter 14.  We can add Pilate, the crowd, more soldiers, chief priests, teachers of the law, and more people that passed by the cross from Chapter 15.  Between betraying Jesus, to making false accusations against Him, to beating Him and mocking Him and crucifying Him, there is incident after incident, and person after person that is denying who Jesus is.  Once He rose from the dead, I wonder how many changed their ways.  How many of the early Church were those that personally had denied Christ?

 

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 

 

 Many of us today would say adamantly that we would never do the same.  Yet I am afraid that by our choices, our priorities, our thoughts, our behavior, that we are denying the preeminence that Jesus should have in our lives.  I struggle with my flesh and continue to see responses that I would like to take back.  My Jesus deserves my all and no signs of betrayal or irreverence to Him.  Romans 12:1 sums it up well, that I should offer my body as a living sacrifice.  It is my only reasonable act of worship!  The question isn’t what set of rules to follow, but rather how can my mouth glorify my Lord?  How about my eyes, my ears?  My hands, my feet?  My mind?  Where has Christ been with your body this week?   What has your body been involved with?  As others have observed you, have they been drawn to Christ?

 

Sunday nights at our Church we have begun a study in Hebrews.  The warnings are throughout the book to beware of drifting away.  Are you and I serving Jesus as King of kings, and Lord of lords?  He is after all the Creator and Sustainer of the Universe.  

 

Colossians 1:15-20 (NIV)
15 He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn over all creation.
16 For by him all things were created: things in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or powers or rulers or authorities; all things were created by him and for him.
17 He is before all things, and in him all things hold together.
18 And he is the head of the body, the church; he is the beginning and the firstborn from among the dead, so that in everything he might have the supremacy.
19 For God was pleased to have all his fullness dwell in him,
20 and through him to reconcile to himself all things, whether things on earth or things in heaven, by making peace through his blood, shed on the cross.
Or have we fallen back into self love forgetting our first love with our Lord?  

 
 
 
 
 

 

 Revelation 2:1-7 (NASB95)
1 “To the angel of the church in Ephesus write: The One who holds the seven stars in His right hand, the One who walks among the seven golden lampstands, says this:
2 ‘I know your deeds and your toil and perseverance, and that you cannot tolerate evil men, and you put to the test those who call themselves apostles, and they are not, and you found them to be false;
3 and you have perseverance and have endured for My name’s sake, and have not grown weary.
4 ‘But I have this against you, that you have left your first love.
5 ‘Therefore remember from where you have fallen, and repent and do the deeds you did at first; or else I am coming to you and will remove your lampstand out of its place—unless you repent.
6 ‘Yet this you do have, that you hate the deeds of the Nicolaitans, which I also hate.
7 ‘He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches. To him who overcomes, I will grant to eat of the tree of life which is in the Paradise of God.’

  They were still doing some good things, but their heart was not where it should have been.  Self love can be pretty subtle, going under the radar of many around us.  Jesus by His grace offered the Church of Ephesus a chance to repent so that they could enjoy life and the opportunity to serve Christ by faith.  He offers us the same.

 

 Let’s always remember our first Love!

 

In love,

 

Steve

 

PS       “Faith, as Paul saw it, was a living, flaming thing leading to surrender and obedience to the commandments of Christ.”- A.W. Tozer

 

 

Leave a Reply

