Amazed

Readings  Mark 16, Psalm 13

 

Mark 16:4-8 (NASB95)
4 Looking up, they saw* that the stone had been rolled away, although it was extremely large.
5 Entering the tomb, they saw a young man sitting at the right, wearing a white robe; and they were amazed.
6 And he said* to them, “Do not be amazed; you are looking for Jesus the Nazarene, who has been crucified. He has risen; He is not here; behold, here is the place where they laid Him.
7 “But go, tell His disciples and Peter, ‘He is going ahead of you to Galilee; there you will see Him, just as He told you.’ ”
8 They went out and fled from the tomb, for trembling and astonishment had gripped them; and they said nothing to anyone, for they were afraid.

 

Dear “wonderers”,

 

There have been many things that have amazed me in my life.  Like how long our Jack Russell Terrier can chase a round green object, how good Jilbert’s ice cream is after a hike in the UP(anytime for that matter), how cold Lake Superior is after jumping off the Black Rocks, how beautiful the Northern Lights can be, how I escaped getting spanked by my dad, how many times I fooled my mom with that fake piece of vomit, how I was spared my life after I threw that rock at my brother, how I ever was blessed with the three children I have, how wonderful my wife is.  Now I hate putting all those things in the same sentence.  There are different levels of amazement.  It is kind of like our word love.  I love ice cream.  I love fishing.  I love cribbage(just wanted to say that for some of my favorite people who like that game), I love my wife.  As you see, love for ice cream and love for my wife are miles apart.  Yet amazement has the idea of wonder, sitting back in astonishment, trying to come to an understanding of something that doesn’t make sense, sometimes even bringing a sense of fear because of the state of the circumstances.  What amazes you?

 

We see in our passage today in Mark 16 how the women visiting the grave of Jesus were amazed at finding the tomb without the body of Jesus and an angel sitting there.  They were truly wondering to the point of fear.  They could not understand what had happened.  Thirty seven times in the Gospels we see the word amazed in the NIV translation.  Most of those times are the reactions of the crowds and disciples to the actions and words of Jesus.  But look at what the angel says to the women.

 

Mark 16:6 (NASB95)
6 And he said* to them, “Do not be amazed; you are looking for Jesus the Nazarene, who has been crucified. He has risen; He is not here; behold, here is the place where they laid Him.

Why not?

Mark 16:7  (NASB95) 
7 “But go, tell His disciples and Peter, ‘He is going ahead of you to Galilee; there you will see Him, just as He told you.’ ”

 

 

Because Jesus had told them what was going to happen!  Because Jesus is the Son of God!  Because whatever He told them would come true!  Jesus is the Faithful One, God Himself!  He is the Way, the Truth, and the Life.  He is the Resurrection!

I think that it is a natural response to be amazed at God and all that He is and does and will do.  Yet as we know Him better and understand His power and purposes, we also must not be amazed at what is possible to the point of unbelief.  With God all things are possible.  Whatever God calls you to, walk by faith, and be in awe of what He will do in and through you!  Rest in His promises.  What He says, believe!

So I think we can be amazed and wonder what God is about in one sense, but also realize that whatever He has promised He will accomplish, and He wants to use you and me for His purposes.  That amazes me.  I mean I believe it, but….  No buts, Thank you Lord for giving me Life, and drawing me to yourself, and preparing a place for me, and so much more.  Your grace is really ……………amazing!  I can’t help it.  Amazing fits well!  How can we understand His love for sinners like you and me!  Let’s live with that amazement and allow Him to do what He desires through us.  Let someone else be amazed at Him in us!

 

Amazed yet believing,

Steve

 

 

Go ahead and log in.  Share what God is teaching you with someone today.  He truly is amazing!

Leave a Reply

