Hey Mulligan man!

Readings Luke 19, Psalm 32

Hey “mulligan man” or woman,

I know of times in the past when I would be playing a game of cards and would do terrible on the first round, that I would be very willing to have a practice round declared. Yet when I did very well I wasn’t to eager to have that practice round. Anybody heard of a “mulligan”? It is a term used in golf(at least in the golf that is played between friends-not in official tournaments) where someone can take another shot if the ball they hit goes somewhere they didn’t want it to. Like the one I hit off the first tee into the pond and cattails directly in front of the tee a few weeks back. Usually in most social golf games you are allowed just one mulligan per game, and usually on the first tee. I like being able to have a “mulligan” when playing golf. The problem with me is that I need at least 18 mulligans per game.

So often in life I would like to go back and say something over, or do something differently. When I have fallen in sin, I would love to go back. I would love to use a “mulligan”, and make it not count. The problem is that in life there would not be enough mulligans, and for that matter, God wouldn’t honor them. Sin must be dealt with in a much more definitive way since God is Holy. Having another mulligan would just mean us trying again on our own effort. God had something much better in mind. Look at Psalm 32 .

Psalm 32:1-2 (NIV)
1 Blessed is he whose transgressions are forgiven, whose sins are covered.
2 Blessed is the man whose sin the LORD does not count against him and in whose spirit is no deceit.

Psalm 32:5 (NIV)
5 Then I acknowledged my sin to you and did not cover up my iniquity. I said, “I will confess my transgressions to the LORD”– and you forgave the guilt of my sin. Selah

In essence, since I have come to Christ in faith, my sins are completely forgiven. My slate is wiped clean. I am treated just as if I had never sinned(justified). This is all because of Jesus taking my place on the cross, dying in my place for my sin. And His resurrection makes new life possible.

Look at these verses from Romans 5.

Romans 5:6-11 (NIV)
6 You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly.
7 Very rarely will anyone die for a righteous man, though for a good man someone might possibly dare to die.
8 But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.
9 Since we have now been justified by his blood, how much more shall we be saved from God’s wrath through him!
10 For if, when we were God’s enemies, we were reconciled to him through the death of his Son, how much more, having been reconciled, shall we be saved through his life!
11 Not only is this so, but we also rejoice in God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have now received reconciliation.

You can have your “mulligans”. I will take the blood of Christ. I will enjoy His forgiveness. Are you struggling with guilt over your sin? Turn to Christ and recognize how you can be completely forgiven. Are you drifting away from Him being caught up in the things He died for? Turn to Christ and hang on tight!

Listen to the final two verses from the Psalmist.

Psalm 32:10-11 (NIV)
10 Many are the woes of the wicked, but the LORD’s unfailing love surrounds the man who trusts in him.
11 Rejoice in the LORD and be glad, you righteous; sing, all you who are upright in heart!

What is your response to God’s forgiveness?

Remembering His death and life till He comes,

Steve

Please go to the comment section below if you would like to comment on any of the readings from Luke or Psalms. I was attracted to the words in Luke 19:48 (NIV)
48 Yet they could not find any way to do it, because all the people hung on his words. Are you and I hanging on the words of Jesus? What are you hearing from God?

Leave a Reply

