Falsely Accused?

Readings  Luke 23, Psalm 36

Luke 23:13-15 (NASB95)
13 Pilate summoned the chief priests and the rulers and the people,
14 and said to them, “You brought this man to me as one who incites the people to rebellion, and behold, having examined Him before you, I have found no guilt in this man regarding the charges which you make against Him.
15 “No, nor has Herod, for he sent Him back to us; and behold, nothing deserving death has been done by Him.

Luke 23:39-41 (NASB95)
39 One of the criminals who were hanged there was hurling abuse at Him, saying, “Are You not the Christ? Save Yourself and us!”
40 But the other answered, and rebuking him said, “Do you not even fear God, since you are under the same sentence of condemnation?
41 “And we indeed are suffering justly, for we are receiving what we deserve for our deeds; but this man has done nothing wrong.”

Luke 23:47 (NASB95)
47 Now when the centurion saw what had happened, he began praising God, saying, “Certainly this man was innocent.”

Luke 23:34 (NASB95)
34 But Jesus was saying, “Father, forgive them; for they do not know what they are doing.” And they cast lots, dividing up His garments among themselves.

Dear falsely accused?,

 

I have been falsely accused of a variety of things in my life.  Some of the times were when people said that I said something I hadn’t.  The words they claimed that I said were not even part of my normal vocabulary.  With some of the incidents I was quite upset, especially when they were set in a church setting many years ago.  It took me by surprise and I could not believe that some even entertained the thought that I might have done what was being said that I had done.  My initial response was one of wanting to have my name cleared.  Eventually I realized that I just needed to continue to be faithful in what I was doing and not become obsessed with the accusations.

 

The more that I grow in the knowledge of our Lord and my understanding of my own sin, I realize that except for the grace of God anything would be possible for me to do, evil that is.  I have not been falsely accused when it comes to sin in my life.  I am no different than any other.  We all sin and fall short of the glory of God.  There is none righteous, no not one.  That is except for Jesus Christ.  That is what amazes me so to see the record of the events leading up to His crucifixion.  See some of the verses above.  Jesus was sinless, not deserving death.  HOWEVER WE DO!  Yet, listen once again to His words on the cross before His death:  “Father, forgive them; for they do not know what they are doing.”

 

Do these words mean something to you?  I hope that they move you to give thanks, and to live with gratitude for what He has done.  Not only has He forgiven YOU of YOUR sin, but because of His resurrection, you now can enjoy His life

 

2 Corinthians 5:14-15 (NIV)
14 For Christ’s love compels us, because we are convinced that one died for all, and therefore all died.
15 And he died for all, that those who live should no longer live for themselves but for him who died for them and was raised again.

 

Falsely accused (I don’t think so!),

Steve

 

We welcome your responses to the Word.  All you need to do is log in to the comment section below the posts.  Enjoy the Word today and share the Good News with someone.

Leave a Reply

