Drug encounter of the first kind

Readings  John 14, Psalm 51   (Please read these chapters)

 

John 14:1 (NIV)
1 “Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God; trust also in me.

Psalm 51:1-4 (NIV)
1 Have mercy on me, O God, according to your unfailing love; according to your great compassion blot out my transgressions.
2 Wash away all my iniquity and cleanse me from my sin.
3 For I know my transgressions, and my sin is always before me.
4 Against you, you only, have I sinned and done what is evil in your sight, so that you are proved right when you speak and justified when you judge.

 

 

Dear loved ones,

 

I was really angry this week.  First I was really angry with a patient, then that anger turned to grief for him and anger at myself for being duped.  He wanted something for pain, even for a few days.  He was a long time patient and had some previous issues, but after talking with he and his wife I hesitantly decided to give him a few days worth of medicine while I checked out a drug screen on him.  He claimed he had been clean of drugs for months.  WRONG!!  How could someone lie to my face in the midst of me going to give him something to possibly help him? Unfortunately, he just took himself out of our office with that act.  I will offer him help, but he can no longer be cared for with any medications through our office.  Fortunately for him I am not the judge.  His sin against me is no big deal.  As David said in Psalm 51:4, his sin was against God.(see above)

 

What really hits home again, is that I am no different.  I know that I do not have a drug problem, but I still have a sin problem.  The problem is not that I have not received God’s pardon through faith in Jesus, but that I still have that capacity to sin at any moment.  Until I am rid of this old body and receive that new immortal body, I have that potential at any moment to sin against God.  By His goodness, I am finding victory more and more often, yet I still encounter the agony of defeat.  Yet it is short lived as I enjoy my God’s forgiveness as I confess to Him directly.  “He is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness”.(I John 1:9)

 

 

Like a cat ready to pounce at a mouse, so is sin in me. 

 Romans 7:24-25 (NIV)
24 What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body of death?
25 Thanks be to God–through Jesus Christ our Lord! So then, I myself in my mind am a slave to God’s law, but in the sinful nature a slave to the law of sin. 
Psalm 51:14-15 
14 Save me from bloodguilt, O God, the God who saves me, and my tongue will sing of your righteousness.
15 O Lord, open my lips, and my mouth will declare your praise.

Not only has He saved me but He has gone to prepare a place for me.  The Judge has come down from behind His bench and is living with me and I get to enjoy His presence for all eternity.  All that He enjoys I will be able to enjoy!  No wonder David says in

 

So as I see this one that lied to me, I still now see deeper in me, my desperate need for Christ.  I must walk in faith daily with Him.  Do you recognize that need?  I hope that as David found forgiveness from adultery and murder, you too will find the love of Christ and enjoy His forgiveness today.  Check out I Corinthians 15:1-8 below)


 

Let’s praise Him today.  Let others know of His mercy and unconditional giving!

 

No longer on death row,

 

Steve

 

 

1 Corinthians 15:1-8 (NIV)
1 Now, brothers, I want to remind you of the gospel I preached to you, which you received and on which you have taken your stand.
2 By this gospel you are saved, if you hold firmly to the word I preached to you. Otherwise, you have believed in vain.
3 For what I received I passed on to you as of first importance: that Christ died for our sins according to the Scriptures,
4 that he was buried, that he was raised on the third day according to the Scriptures,
5 and that he appeared to Peter, and then to the Twelve.
6 After that, he appeared to more than five hundred of the brothers at the same time, most of whom are still living, though some have fallen asleep.
7 Then he appeared to James, then to all the apostles,
8 and last of all he appeared to me also, as to one abnormally born.

 

 

Any comments? Log in to the comment section below.  Enjoy the Judge today.

Leave a Reply

