No need to fear

Readings – John 10,  Psalm 47

 

John 10:7-10 (NIV)
7 Therefore Jesus said again, “I tell you the truth, I am the gate for the sheep.
8 All who ever came before me were thieves and robbers, but the sheep did not listen to them.
9 I am the gate; whoever enters through me will be saved. He will come in and go out, and find pasture.
10 The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.


John 10:14-18 (NIV)
14 “I am the good shepherd; I know my sheep and my sheep know me–
15 just as the Father knows me and I know the Father–and I lay down my life for the sheep.
16 I have other sheep that are not of this sheep pen. I must bring them also. They too will listen to my voice, and there shall be one flock and one shepherd.
17 The reason my Father loves me is that I lay down my life–only to take it up again.
18 No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of my own accord. I have authority to lay it down and authority to take it up again. This command I received from my Father.”

Dear potential stars,

I was asked the other day why the world was the way it was.  The discussion on the economy spurred on the discussion.  The rest of the world’s problems were in view as well.  I simply replied that it has been this way from near the beginning.  Man has continued to choose what is right in his own eyes spurning our God and refusing to do what was right in His eyes.  As long as man seeks to please himself, glorify himself, live for himself, we will continue to see our nation and our world plunge into the decadence we see.  We will continue to see the fall of relationships, the continual violent and non violent crimes, and the greed that was a key to our current economic crisis. 

 

In the midst of this confusion we can be like stars shining in the dark. (Philippians 2:14-16)  We can enjoy a relationship with Jesus that no one can take from us.  By trusting in the One who gave His life for us, we can find security with God Himself!

John 10:27-30 (NIV)
27 My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me.
28 I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one can snatch them out of my hand.
29 My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all; no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand.
30 I and the Father are one.”

 

Jesus provided life for us by first dying for us.  He was not killed against His will.  He gave His life voluntarily.  Listen to this again:  John 10:17-18 (NIV)
17 The reason my Father loves me is that I lay down my life–only to take it up again.
18 No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of my own accord. I have authority to lay it down and authority to take it up again. This command I received from my Father.”

Would you die for people that rebel against you, who do anything they want and totally ignore you, and forget who you are?  I don’t think so!  But look at Jesus.  He did just that! 

Let’s step down from our pedestals and let Jesus shine through us in this dark world.  Let’s do what is right in His eyes.  Then others can see God glorified in this faltering economy, in our broken relationships, in our failing health.  Then we can see our purpose fulfilled in the midst of crisis.  That purpose is to glorify God and enjoy Him forever.  We do not need to despair when we meet up with “failure” in our lives when we are complete in Christ! 

Will you willingly give your life for Jesus?  He did for you!

 In His hand,

 Steve

 

Leave a Reply

