Where is your hope?

Readings   Acts 5, Psalm 62 

 

Acts 5:29 (NIV)
29 Peter and the other apostles replied: “We must obey God rather than men!

 


Psalm 62:5-8 (NIV)
5 Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from him.
6 He alone is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will not be shaken.
7 My salvation and my honor depend on God; he is my mighty rock, my refuge.
8 Trust in him at all times, O people; pour out your hearts to him, for God is our refuge. Selah

 

 

Dear Hopeful,

 

I remember playing Monopoly and trying to decide to build up Boardwalk and Parkplace with what money I had.  I knew if my opponent did not hit me, I would be in trouble, as I was facing his hotels on my next turn or two, and if he didn’t land on me I would not be able to pay him off.  My hope was in the luck of the dice.  It seems that we are like that in life a lot.  We place our hope in things that may not happen, or in things, relationships, that can be gone in a second.  Where is your hope?

 

Is your hope in God alone?

Are you trusting Him alone?

Is He alone your safe place?

 

You may say “of course!”

But what does your life say?  What does my life say?

Where are your desires?  What is the most essential thing in your life?  What motivates you, drives you, forms how you spend your time, your money?  What happens when you lose your job, your girlfriend or boyfriend, the stock market crashes and you lose your savings, your health fails, your marriage falls apart? 

The Apostles in Acts 5 recognized their purpose was wrapped up in who Christ was and what He had accomplished, and what His purposes were.  They listened to God and were willing to do anything to serve Him.  They recognized that what they were created for was to serve and glorify God, so they were willing to let go of what others thought was important so that they would do what was truly needed.

 

I ask you again as I ask myself.  Are we seeking after a perfect relationship as our goal in life?  After the perfect job?  After the right pay?  Recognition?  Perfect health?  We may say “no”, but what does our life say, our actions, time, money, reactions?

 

Think about these things.  Where are your desires?  In what you think is important, or what God says is necessary?  Look again at David’s words in Psalm 62 and consider who you are, who God is, what condition He found you in, and what He did to save you.  Is there a need for a change?  Seems like there is always room in my life for change.  It is not change that will restrict us with legalistic boundaries, but free us up to enjoy God doing His powerful work through us.

 

How do you correct where your hope lies if it is not in God alone?

 

Hoping in God,

Steve

 

One thought on “Where is your hope?

  1. Steve, thanks for your focus on hope. One of my favorite prayers from Paul is Romans 15:13, “May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” I emphasized the word trust, for as you stated in one of your opening questions, without trust in Jesus we cannot expect to have real hope in Jesus. As we trust Him, we “overflow” with the hope that He fills us with!

Leave a Reply

