Chosen Ones

Readings Acts 13, Psalm 70

 

Acts 13:48 (NASB95)
48 When the Gentiles heard this, they began rejoicing and glorifying the word of the Lord; and as many as had been appointed to eternal life believed.

 

Dear chosen ones,

 

Has anyone ever done anything for you that you would not have done apart from their choosing to make it happen?  That has happened numerous times in my life, whether getting a bus ticket paid for to go to a conference down south, to free tickets to a game, or coupons for dinner, or someone else choosing to take us out to a fancy restaurant, and the list can go on and on.  In all these cases someone else chose to do something for me that I normally would not have done, and would not have been able to participate in. 

 

In Acts 13:48 we see the Gentiles respond to the Good News of Jesus.  We read there that all those that were “appointed” to eternal life believed.  This appointing speaks of someone outside of themselves doing the work of choosing or moving them in that direction.  It appears to tie very much into the doctrine of election that is so often a hot topic.  I do not want to get into that today, but do want us to realize that apart from God’s choosing to do a work in us, we would simply keep going on our way doing our own thing, moving further and further away from Him.  (Romans 3:10-18, Isaiah 53:6, Genesis 6:5 among others)

 

I praise Him that today I can be included in His Family.  I did not deserve it and apart from Him I could not be in it.  I am thankful for you as well.  Apart from His work I would not have been able to enjoy His family as I have.  It is a real privilege to share together with you all in His glorious work.

 

Chosen,

 

Steve

 

  I would love to hear your thoughts on how God is speaking to you.

Leave a Reply

