Trainees

Readings-  Acts 21   Psalm 78 

 

Acts 20:22-24 (NIV)
22 “And now, compelled by the Spirit, I am going to Jerusalem, not knowing what will happen to me there.
23 I only know that in every city the Holy Spirit warns me that prison and hardships are facing me.
24 However, I consider my life worth nothing to me, if only I may finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me–the task of testifying to the gospel of God’s grace.

Dear trainees,

How are you doing?  Those of you in High School, do you think you will ever graduate, those in college, how about you?  What about those training for a job, or even looking for a job?  Often times we are so frustrated with our lack of movement forward.  For you football fans, just think about a particular team:).  I have tried Guitar Hero a few times, and I know I will never master that. 

 

Consider Paul today!  He considered his life worth nothing, compared with the task before him of testifying to the Gospel of God’s grace.  How many of you feel like that?  Should you?  Will you ever get there?  If we examine our choices, they may not compare to Paul’s.  What makes the difference?  Genetics?  Training?  I believe a closer understanding of who Paul was, a sinner, and a better understanding of God’s love.  And a life that is totally yielded to the Spirit of God, empowered by His Spirit, enjoying His grace.

 

 2 Corinthians 5:14-15 (NIV)
14 For Christ’s love compels us, because we are convinced that one died for all, and therefore all died.
15 And he died for all, that those who live should no longer live for themselves but for him who died for them and was raised again.

 

 Consider the Gospel daily, and maybe we will see lives that are more on the lines of Paul, willing to give it all.  If we are in Christ, there is no better place to be, nothing else worth the same, really.  Really!

 

 Philippians 3:12-16 (NIV)
12 Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already been made perfect, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me.
13 Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead,
14 I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.
15 All of us who are mature should take such a view of things. And if on some point you think differently, that too God will make clear to you.
16 Only let us live up to what we have already attained.

 

Let’s continue to grow up together, maturing in Christ!

 

 

Learning to yield,

 

Steve

Leave a Reply

