Better is one day…

Readings  Acts 27  Psalm 84

 Psalm 84:1-12 (NIV)
1 How lovely is your dwelling place, O LORD Almighty!
2 My soul yearns, even faints, for the courts of the LORD; my heart and my flesh cry out for the living God.
3 Even the sparrow has found a home, and the swallow a nest for herself, where she may have her young– a place near your altar, O LORD Almighty, my King and my God.
4 Blessed are those who dwell in your house; they are ever praising you. Selah
5 Blessed are those whose strength is in you, who have set their hearts on pilgrimage.
6 As they pass through the Valley of Baca, they make it a place of springs; the autumn rains also cover it with pools.
7 They go from strength to strength, till each appears before God in Zion.
8 Hear my prayer, O LORD God Almighty; listen to me, O God of Jacob. Selah
9 Look upon our shield, O God; look with favor on your anointed one.
10 Better is one day in your courts than a thousand elsewhere; I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God than dwell in the tents of the wicked.
11 For the LORD God is a sun and shield; the LORD bestows favor and honor; no good thing does he withhold from those whose walk is blameless.
12 O LORD Almighty, blessed is the man who trusts in you.

 

Dear sojourners,


Where do you enjoy spending your time?  What is your favorite place to relax?  I have found some great locations through the years, primarily in the up north with camping or in some rustic cabins.  There seems to be nothing better than the bright stars out at night, with the calls of the wild all around.(Although a warm, sunny beach doesn’t sound too bad right now.) 

 

In Psalm 84 we hear of the Psalmist’s desire to be in the Temple of the Lord to enjoy His presence.  He longs for the journey there, because he realizes who he will be with.  Where are you in your journey?  Are you having any longings?  Are they to be with the Lord?  Do your desires involve Him more than where you are living, who you want to be with here?  To be true followers of God, Jesus called for some radical commitment.  See Luke 14:25-27 (NIV)
25 Large crowds were traveling with Jesus, and turning to them he said:
26 “If anyone comes to me and does not hate his father and mother, his wife and children, his brothers and sisters–yes, even his own life–he cannot be my disciple.
27 And anyone who does not carry his cross and follow me cannot be my disciple.

 

He is not saying that we should actually hate our family as we think of hating, but rather to love God first above all else.  The Psalmist saw who God really is and what was most important in life.  We are still learning and often times other things or people in this life seem to be more important than God.  I challenge you and myself today to evaluate where our hopes and desires are.  Examine your faith today.  It is not that we can not enjoy the places and people God has placed in our life.  It is just that God alone can meet our deepest need, God alone is the One that deserves all honor and glory.  He alone can bless in ways that will satisfy the people He created. 

 

 3 Even the sparrow has found a home, and the swallow a nest for herself, where she may have her young– a place near your altar, O LORD Almighty, my King and my God.
4 Blessed are those who dwell in your house; they are ever praising you. Selah
5 Blessed are those whose strength is in you, who have set their hearts on pilgrimage.
6 As they pass through the Valley of Baca, they make it a place of springs; the autumn rains also cover it with pools.
7 They go from strength to strength, till each appears before God in Zion.

 

I look forward to times with God’s family.  His presence is there as we gather together.  What is very encouraging is that He is also with me wherever I go.  And one day we all who are in Christ, will enjoy His presence in a new and beautiful way.  We will see His face.  I long for that day. 

 

Enjoying Him on the journey,

 

Steve

 

I have been reading some interesting things for young men recently.  It deals with sexual purity.  The book is titled “Every young man’s battle”.  It is a hard hitting book that would be a good read for young men and their fathers.  There is another that I have not read called “Every man’s battle” which is geared for men above the teens and twenties.  For you women there are similar titled books that I have not read(Every young woman’s battle).  In this age where there is so much temptation all around us, these books may encourage you greatly and help you stand firm.   Ephesians 5 tells us:

 Ephesians 5:3 (NIV)
3 But among you there must not be even a hint of sexual immorality, or of any kind of impurity, or of greed, because these are improper for God’s holy people.

 

I am afraid that in most of our lives there has been more than a hint.

For any comments, log in, or you may e-mail me back.  Keep the faith!

Leave a Reply

