Free at last

Readings   Galatians 5  Psalm 134 

 

Galatians 5:1 (NASB95)
1 It was for freedom that Christ set us free; therefore keep standing firm and do not be subject again to a yoke of slavery.

Galatians 5:6  (NASB95)   
6 For in Christ Jesus neither circumcision nor uncircumcision means anything, but faith working through love.

Galatians 5:13 (NASB95)
13 For you were called to freedom, brethren; only do not turn your freedom into an opportunity for the flesh, but through love serve one another.

 

Dear freedmen,

 

Whenever I head up north to go to camp or vacation, I do not feel right until I get by my office in White Cloud.  I always go by it on the way up.  Usually I need to stop and take care of some unfinished business, but once I get into the car and head beyond it, I suddenly feel a weight lifted off my shoulders.  Now, there is no turning back.  I am free to move on, and enjoy the trip, to do the things that my heart is truly desiring to do.  To enjoy God’s creation.  To enjoy God’s people.  To rest in Him.  Free at last!

 

This past Tuesday we saw the inauguration of our first black President.  Quite an amazing event in light of our county’s sordid past.  Many have recalled  Martin Luther King Jr’s life and words in viewing this present day happening.  In Martin Luther King, Jr.’s famous speech, I Have a Dream, he ends with the words from a song:

    Free at last! Free at last!

                Thank God Almighty, we are free at last!

 

He was speaking of the coming together of all of humanity where no longer will people judge one another on their color, but will join hands together in unity.  It was a mighty speech and it is great to see how some of the barriers of racism have been broken down, and his dream is partially coming true.

 

In Galatians 5 I saw the statement, “It was for freedom that Christ set us free”, and this sparked a quick reminder of recent and past events.  Most of all it reminds me of the truths that I have been studying quite intently recently.   We are new creations in Christ, and now I am free to live as I was created to be in Christ.  Free to love.  God has now placed in me, in my heart, His law, and now I have a desire to seek after Him and serve Him and enjoy Him.  No longer am I bound to this flesh and to sin, but am free to live in the power of the Spirit of God.  Martin Luther King, Jr had a dream, some of which is coming true in today’s events.  But we as believer’s in Christ have a freedom now that most do not realize. It is not a dream, but a reality!

 

Explore your freedom today.  What is holding you back?

 

Free,

 

Steve

 

 

If you are having difficulty understanding this freedom, do not feel bad.  I am still learning it.  Let me know your thoughts or questions.  Let’s help one another be able to exclaim together, “free, free, thank God Almighty, we are free at last!”  Log on  below the posting to comment, or simply reply back to the email address on our home page.

Leave a Reply

