Celebrity

Readings   Ephesians 3  Psalm 137 

Ephesians 3:11-12 (NASB95)
11 This was in accordance with the eternal purpose which He carried out in Christ Jesus our Lord,
12 in whom we have boldness and confident access through faith in Him.

 

Dear star hunters,

 

I remember in sixth grade having a crush on several girls, longing to be in there presence, but scared to death to approach them.  My shyness was painful.  Some others must have known some of my feelings, because they would try to drag me in front of them.  That helped me develop some of my speed in those early days.(long gone now.)  Some people would love to relive their youth.  I could do without reliving those days.

It is interesting to watch girls in the presence of their idols, whether an actor, singer, or some other famous person.  They will yell, scream, cry, fall to the ground, do just about anything to get their attention.  Very often, these celebrities will have great security around them to prevent anyone from getting close without the celebrity wanting it.  I do not know any people of “famous status”, so my ability to get close to anyone of importance is pretty unlikely, next to impossible.

Unless you consider the most famous One.  As Paul reminds us in Ephesians 3:12, anyone in Christ, can approach God with freedom and confidence.  The writer of Hebrews tells us that we can approach the throne of grace with boldness, entering the holy place of God(Hebrews 4:16Hebrews 10:19).  In Revelation we see where we Christians will be in His presence, He will live amongst us (Revelation 21:2-3).

 

You can have your encounters with your celebrities.  I will enjoy my Lord for all eternity.  The Psalmist gives right perspective:

 

Psalm 84:10 (NASB95)
10 For a day in Your courts is better than a thousand outside. I would rather stand at the threshold of the house of my God Than dwell in the tents of wickedness.

 

Praise God that it will not be for just one day!  He calls me His child!  I am on the “inside”.

 

Enjoying my celebrity status,

 

Steve

 

 

Leave a Reply

