Best dressed

Readings  Philippians 3   Psalm 143 

 

Dear followers of Christ,

 

Maybe I really do need my wife’s help getting dressed every day.  Just add another embarrassing act to my illustrious fashion career.  Putting on underwear backwards, mismatched socks, no belt, wrong color pants, deodorant marks on the outside of the shirt, holes in my pits, spots on the shirt, white dog hair on black pants, the well known zipper down, while teaching Sunday School, are just some of the highlights(don’t forget the dog you know what, on my shoes).  Now add to the list my latest.  I was at a gathering of friends and after being there for probably over an hour, the host’s oldest daughter started to ask me something in the kitchen and then stopped.  Within about five minutes she got up the nerve in the living room full of people to ask me why I was wearing my sweater inside out.  The adult next to me readily said that yeah, my label was on the outside.  I am sorry that I can’t say I was doing it for a special assignment or something.  Just got to remember to look in a mirror, I guess.

 

I am thankful that this young lady was willing to let me know what was wrong.  How willing are the rest of us to speak to others of problems in their lives?  Paul very clearly has a habit of warning people in his letters of dangers to their faith.  Philippians 3 is no different.  He states, “Beware of the dogs, beware of the evil workers, beware of the false circumcision; for we are the true circumcision, who worship in the Spirit of God and glory in Christ Jesus and put no confidence in the flesh.”

 

Not only was he willing to point out the dangers, he was willing to tell them, “Brethren, join in following my example, and observe those who walk according to the pattern you have in us.”  Can we say the same thing?  Think about your life.  Is it like Paul in example?  Is Christ your life, is He being visible?  Or are you looking more like the ones he warns the Philippians about, “ For many walk, of whom I often told you, and now tell you even weeping, that they are enemies of the cross of Christ, whose end is destruction, whose god is their appetite, and whose glory is in their shame, who set their minds on earthly things.”

 

Please let others know when “their shirt is inside out” and consider your life.  Are you seeking to satisfy your appetites or seeking Christ?  Only Christ can truly satisfy, don’t be misled by the false advertisement of the world.  It’s pleasures only last for a season.  The consequences, well…………….

 

Still in need of help,

 

Steve 


Remember to put on Christ today.

Leave a Reply

