Heated Up

Readings  I Peter 1-2 

 frost-on-a-windshield

 

This is what another person’s windshield looked like as they were coming towards me while driving into the sun crossing over the yellow line.

They heard my horn and I felt the dirt on the side of the road.  They needed a little more heating up.

 

 

 

1 Peter 2:6-7 (NASB95)
6 For this is contained in Scripture: “BEHOLD, I LAY IN ZION A CHOICE STONE, A PRECIOUS CORNER stone, AND HE WHO BELIEVES IN HIM WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED.”
7 This precious value, then, is for you who believe; but for those who disbelieve, “THE STONE WHICH THE BUILDERS REJECTED, THIS BECAME THE VERY CORNER stone,

Dear disappointed,

 

It was a chilly morning today as I got into my car and drove off to meet my brothers for breakfast.  As soon as I thought it time, I turned on the heater in hopes of warm air blowing on me.  As I felt the heat warming me up, I actually thought that it was one of the best feelings to have, being warmed up from a cold state.  Often times I will leave the heater going full blast and actually will be getting very hot, yet it feels so good.  I don’t like being cold.  After enjoying a meal with my brothers I once went again got into my cold vehicle but quickly enjoyed the heat again.  As I entered our house I was a little disappointed as it was quite chilly, and I thought that being inside, should be warm.  I decided not to turn the furnace up, however, but to sit down and look at the Word of God.  My furnace has failed me before, as has the heater in my car.  The Word has never failed me, and I was looking to God for some lasting warmth.

 

In I Peter 2:6  I was hit by the phrase, “and he who believes in Him will not be disappointed.”   That was powerful to me.  I have been disappointed in myself this week.  Failing to respond as I think I should have.  Being unavailable to people in need.  Seeing people dying around me with no hope, and my being tied up with paper work (maybe that is just an excuse for keeping my mouth shut), going to bed without having that meaningful conversation with the ones I love.  I am sure that I can go on, but the point is that I am not disappointed this morning.  My thoughts have been drawn to the One that I will not be disappointed in! 

 

I Peter 2:7  states that this “choice stone”, this “precious corner stone”, this “precious value”, is for me, for those that believe.  That warms me!  I can get heated up thinking about that!  Verse 9 tells me that I am part of a chosen race, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people for God’s OWN possession.  We are now the people of God.  You know how you feel when you are accepted and wanted by someone.  Well here we have the Creator of all, choosing me to be part of His OWN possession.  And that wasn’t because of something good I was doing.  Look at the final verse in chapter 2.  I was on a wayward path, straying like a sheep, but now look where I am, and anyone in Christ.  Now I have returned to the Shepherd and Guardian of my soul!  No better place to be.  I picture Jesus holding me in His arms, “warming me”. 

 

I am thankful for the heaters in my life, but nothing compares with the warmth my Savior gives. 

 

He will not disappoint you!

 

Chosen,

 

Steve

 

 

1 Peter 2:9-10 (NASB95)
9 But you are A CHOSEN RACE, A royal PRIESTHOOD, A HOLY NATION, A PEOPLE FOR God’s OWN POSSESSION, so that you may proclaim the excellencies of Him who has called you out of darkness into His marvelous light;
10 for you once were NOT A PEOPLE, but now you are THE PEOPLE OF GOD; you had NOT RECEIVED MERCY, but now you have RECEIVED MERCY.

 

If you have anything to share from God’s Word, please log on and share.

Leave a Reply

