Munchkins unite!

Reading  Revelation 20 

 

singing

      It is time to rejoice together!

 

Revelation 20:2
2 And he laid hold of the dragon, the serpent of old, who is the devil and Satan, and bound him for a thousand years;

Revelation 20:10
10 And the devil who deceived them was thrown into the lake of fire and brimstone, where the beast and the false prophet are also; and they will be tormented day and night forever and ever.

 

Dear Munchkins,

 

 

My mind works in very strange ways.  The song from Wizard of Oz just popped into my head as I was contemplating the truth of Satan’s demise.  Just for a refresher course I posted the lyrics from the song.  Remember the joy the little munchkins displayed.   I am much like one of those little munchkins, and I rejoice today, that Jesus has won the victory, and that one day Satan will be totally out of our lives for eternity.


 

– DING DONG! THE WITCH IS DEAD Lyrics

Munchkins:
Ding Dong! The Witch is dead. Which old Witch? The Wicked Witch!
Ding Dong! The Wicked Witch is dead.
Wake up – sleepy head, rub your eyes, get out of bed.
Wake up, the Wicked Witch is dead. She’s gone where the goblins go,
Below – below – below. Yo-ho, let’s open up and sing and ring the bells out.
Ding Dong’ the merry-oh, sing it high, sing it low.
Let them know
The Wicked Witch is dead!
Mayor:
As Mayor of the Munchkin City, In the County of the Land of Oz, I welcome you most regally.
Barrister:
But we’ve got to verify it legally, to see
Mayor:
To see?
Barrister:
If she
Mayor:
If she?
Barrister:
Is morally, ethic’lly
Father No.1:
Spiritually, physically
Father No. 2:
Positively, absolutely
Munchkins:
Undeniably and reliably Dead
Coroner:
As Coroner I must aver, I thoroughly examined her.
And she’s not only merely dead, she’s really most sincerely dead.
Mayor:
Then this is a day of Independence For all the Munchkins and their descendants
Barrister:
If any.
Mayor:
Yes, let the joyous news be spread The wicked Old Witch at last is dead!

 

 


Revelation 20 stands out to me as a chapter that confirms the fact that Satan and his world system will ultimately be taken care of.  In the future, he will no longer be able to deceive those who are in Christ any longer.  It speaks of him being bound for a thousand years, and then released for a short time to finally be thrown into the lake of fire for eternity.  We just celebrated Easter with the truth of the cross and the resurrection of our Lord being highlighted around the world.  We see in this, death being defeated, as well as Satan and sin being dealt with.  This should be a daily celebration!

 

Yes, let the joyous news be spread the wicked devil has been defeated and it is only a matter of time until the events above happen!

 

 

When I read about Satan being bound for one thousand years, I was happy and sad at the same time.  Happy that Satan’s end was in sight, sad that it seems I continue to realize the effects of Satan’s fall, and my sin.  There are moments where I still feel bound myself by my “flesh”.  My mind at points, continues to fail to exhibit the life of Christ within.  I am crying out as Paul in 

 

Romans 7:15-20
15 For what I am doing, I do not understand; for I am not practicing what I would like to do, but I am doing the very thing I hate.
16 But if I do the very thing I do not want to do, I agree with the Law, confessing that the Law is good.
17 So now, no longer am I the one doing it, but sin which dwells in me.
18 For I know that nothing good dwells in me, that is, in my flesh; for the willing is present in me, but the doing of the good is not.
19 For the good that I want, I do not do, but I practice the very evil that I do not want.
20 But if I am doing the very thing I do not want, I am no longer the one doing it, but sin which dwells in me.

 

But I also read on in Romans 7:24-25   
24 Wretched man that I am! Who will set me free from the body of this death?
25 Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord! So then, on the one hand I myself with my mind am serving the law of God, but on the other, with my flesh the law of sin.

 

Let’s rejoice today that Jesus has secured the victory, and we can live as overcomers, and we can live by the Spirit in the beauty of the truths found in Romans 8, and Galatians 2:20.. 
Romans 8:9-11
9 However, you are not in the flesh but in the Spirit, if indeed the Spirit of God dwells in you. But if anyone does not have the Spirit of Christ, he does not belong to Him.
10 If Christ is in you, though the body is dead because of sin, yet the spirit is alive because of righteousness.
11 But if the Spirit of Him who raised Jesus from the dead dwells in you, He who raised Christ Jesus from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies through His Spirit who dwells in you.

 

 

Galatians 2:20 (NASB95)
20

“I have been crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself up for me.

 

Yes, let the joyous news be spread, Christ lives!  And He lives in me!

 

From one little munchkin to another,

 

Steve

 

 

 

(However there is a very sad part at the end of chapter 20. 

 

Revelation 20:15 (NASB95)
15 And if anyone’s name was not found written in the book of life, he was thrown into the lake of fire.

 

I remember eagerly looking on different lists in the past to see if I had been included in a particular group or event.  My heart would sink if I was not, and would be glad if I saw my name.  I hope and pray that all who read this are listed in the book of life.  If you have doubts, please let me know.)

 

 

For further comments go to www.gracecommunityfremont.wordpress.com/posts and log in under the post to share.  We have so much to be thankful and sing about.  Wish I had a better voice to sing, but if we all sing together it can be a beautiful sound!

Leave a Reply

