Fork in the road

Reading Proverbs 8 

 Fork in road

 When you hit a fork in the road, which way will you turn?

 Who are you listening to as your “fork” advisor?

 

Dear Brothers and Sisters,

The wisdom the Bible speaks of should cause us to listen all the more.  If only people would stop and listen when someone says “This is what God says in the Bible……”

In Proverbs 8:22-26  we see that wisdom existed before creation,

 Proverbs 8:22-24  (NASB95)
22 “The LORD possessed me at the beginning of His way, Before His works of old.
23 “From everlasting I was established, From the beginning, from the earliest times of the earth.
24 “When there were no depths I was brought forth, When there were no springs abounding with water.

and in verses 27-31 we see wisdom was involved in creation itself. 

Proverbs 8:29-31 (NASB95)
29 When He set for the sea its boundary So that the water would not transgress His command, When He marked out the foundations of the earth;
30 Then I was beside Him, as a master workman; And I was daily His delight, Rejoicing always before Him,
31 Rejoicing in the world, His earth, And having my delight in the sons of men.

 The point being that if wisdom was before creation and involved in creation, don’t you think it is worth listening to.  The created ones need to listen to wisdom which God used in creating all things. 

Sometimes it is good to look at what something is not, or what it does not like.  In buying a present for my wife, I know not to buy a moth collection, or a pictorial on bats, because she is fearful of both.  That would not be wise.  Listen to the following verses and see what wisdom tells us we should not like.

Proverbs 8:12-13 (NASB95)
12 “I, wisdom, dwell with prudence, And I find knowledge and discretion.
13 “The fear of the LORD is to hate evil; Pride and arrogance and the evil way And the perverted mouth, I hate.

Perverseness is spoken against numerous times in the book of Proverbs. When we hear perverted, we think one thing, but it means that and more.   It speaks of turning away from that which is normal.  It is a turning from that which is straight, godly, to that which is evil, or apart from God.  It is coming to that fork in the road and turning away from God’s path, or wisdom, and choosing our enemies “wisdom”.  I find it interesting that Jesus first words in His public ministry was for the people to repent, which means a turning around from where they were going, from what they were trusting in, and to turn to God, to Jesus Himself, as He was the One to save the world from their sin, their perverseness.

Perverseness then, deals with a false picture of morality or a distortion of what it should really be.  We are told that we should hate evil, pride, arrogance, the evil way, and the perverted mouth.  Where do we hear these kind of things.  EVERYWHERE it seems.  As I am across from a TV screen in the room I am now typing in, I am reminded that this is a huge pipeline into most homes of perversion.  My dad used to quote Philippians 4:8 , when he found me watching TV.  It would be a good thing to place above it today.  We can  find ourselves watching something for entertainment and within the program there are so many things that might be promoted, lying, situational ethics, cheating, sexual intimacy outside of marriage, coarse joking, foul language, abuse of God’s name………………   We will reply, well that is life.  After all the Bible is full of some pretty perverse stories.  Yet it is one thing to watch for entertainment on a regular basis, getting a regular diet of the twisted morality, rather than exposure to understand our culture or past event.

Some are saying Steve, get a life.  Stop being so “whatever”.  Be careful.  It is not my words.  Listen to Wisdom speak in Proverbs.  Listen to what was before creation, during creation, and still is speaking out today.  Will you and I listen?   How far have we turned away from the straight?  Do we need to repent?  What practices are we involved in that are “perverse”?  The fear of the LORD is to hate evil, not to be entertained by it, or to entertain it ourselves.

NOT ALL IS NEGATIVE!  Listen to the benefits of listening to wisdom in Proverbs 8:

Proverbs 8:32-36 (NASB95)
32 “Now therefore, O sons, listen to me, For blessed are they who keep my ways.
33 “Heed instruction and be wise, And do not neglect it.
34 “Blessed is the man who listens to me, Watching daily at my gates, Waiting at my doorposts.
35 “For he who finds me finds life And obtains favor from the LORD.

36 “But he who sins against me injures himself; All those who hate me love death.”

Desiring wisdom, but sometimes still needing to “turn”,

Steve

If you have any comments you may  click on the word “comments” below the post, and follow the directions.  Enjoy God’s Wisdom today.  It is a blessing for you.

One thought on “Fork in the road

Leave a Reply

