Are you secure?

Readings  Proverbs 18 

 tornado  mosquito  Vampire%20Bat%201

Which would you want to seek shelter from?  I don’t think my wife will be able to get past the last one to read this!  🙂

 

Dear shelter seekers,

 

Several years back, my son Chris, brother-in-law Tom, and his son Jacob, were heading out from our cabin after a fun week up enjoying Canadian fishing.  We had a great time, although the fish were not cooperating like that one commercial I have seen on TV where the fish are calling the man up on the telephone.  He had stayed home, rather than coming up to Canada.  The commercial then showed these fish offering themselves up to the fishermen that were there.  Good thing we brought some mashed potatoes, and spaghetti, although we did get a fish to eat every day.

 

Back to the subject.  On the way out, on our 27 mile trip down the river, a storm suddenly came up, and we had to pull off into a cove.  It was a lightening storm, and it was pouring rain.  Where do you go?  In the woods by a tall tree, or stay on top of the water with a tarp quickly snapped over us?  We chose to stay in the boat and we remained “secure”.  Well, we remained.  The storm blew over and after figuring out why the boat wasn’t starting, we headed the rest of the way out with no further storms.  It is not a good feeling to be left out with no real secure place to hide.

 

We are reminded in Proverbs 18:10 that we do have a secure place to hide.  In the midst of the storms of this world we have a strong tower.  A strong tower doesn’t mean as much to us today after the events of 9/11.  But in the times of the writer of Proverbs, it was a safe place to run to.  The name of the LORD represents who God really is.  Name represents the character of, the actual person.  So the shelter of the righteous person was God Himself. 

 

In contrast to God, we see in the following verse, that a “rich man’s wealth is his strong city, and like a high wall in his own imagination”.   After seeing large amounts of money disappearing in my 401K account in the last year, I do not find much security in that.  I never did see retirement as Biblical. 🙂 

 

As we seek to determine what careers we are in, or which job we choose, much of our decision making is on how much we are going to be paid.  That is important, but we should always be first placing our trust in God.  We can not serve both God and money.  God is faithful.  He never changes.  There is no economic crisis that can separate us from the love of God.  We can always remain secure in our strong tower!

 

Before you make that decision on that new job, that new home, that new boyfriend or girlfriend, that new whatever, spend some time in your high tower.  Get a view from there.  Get a perspective from God, and enjoy His strength.    He has given you His Word to feed on, while enjoying His tower.  You will see with a new perspective what the will of God is, that good, pleasing, and perfect will of God.  As you submit to God, placing yourself as a living sacrifice in His hands, you can not be lost in this world! 

 

 

Enjoying my tower,

 

Steve

 

Go to  the word comment above or below this post and click on it if you have any comments on how you find security in this life.

2 thoughts on “Are you secure?

  1. I read your message subsequent to a conversation with my husband about the tight times we are having. I was laid off in February and haven’t been able secure employment. All the things we have are in jeapordy but I do have faith that it will all be okay. Not because I may not still lose all that we have worked for, but because whether or not we survive this latest crisis intact isn’t god’s problem. God’s challenge is to help me mantain my relationship with the Creator no matter what earthly losses I may face. If I lose my “things”, it won’t be the first time. If I lose my relationship with God, I will be lost.

    Thank you, Steve, for reminding me that with God all things are possible.

  2. How true! All in life whether the blessings or the “losses” should be pointing us to our dependence on our Lord. He is the All Sufficient One, yet many times we are distracted by our enemy’s strategy. Our enemy wants us to believe that God is holding out on us. He is not. And nothing can separate me from the love of God!

    By the way, my wife was unable to get by the bat picture, until I asked her to read on. 🙂

    Steve

Leave a Reply

