School days remembered

Readings  Proverbs 30-31 

 school

Do you recognize me on the right? 

Good, it is not me!

Dear schoolmates,

 

Back in High School I remember failing to stand up for a fellow student that was continually being put down.   He was different than the rest, and I along with countless others failed to speak up for him, to befriend him, to protect him.  Finally one day he turned on one of those that ridiculed him, and it wasn’t pretty.  He tore his abuser apart.  That’s the last real image I have of him.  I can not honestly remember what happened to him after that.  I should get out my old yearbooks, and check out to see what his name was and where he might be now. 

 

 It is important to speak out for those that can not speak for themselves.   Wisdom tells us to care for those that are oppressed, that are in need. 

 

Proverbs 31:8-9

Open your mouth for the mute, For the rights of all the unfortunate.
9 Open your mouth, judge righteously, And defend the rights of the afflicted and needy.

 

When I was younger I was extremely shy, and avoided all opportunities to be in front of anybody.   Unfortunately, I was not depending on Christ to strengthen me, to speak through me.   There is no excuse now.  What other people are out there that we should be standing up for? 

 

Orphans, widows, martyred Christians, women caught in slave trading, poor,………………….  How about those neighbors in our community that are struggling?   The homeless, the handicapped, the developmentally disabled?  The list goes on.

 

This is not a burden, but a blessing to be able to be used by God to love Jesus by loving others.  Could these be some of the good deeds that God planned for us to “walk in”?

 

Ephesians 2:10 (NASB95)
10 For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand so that we would walk in them.

Quiet for too long,

 

Steve

One thought on “School days remembered

Leave a Reply

