What are you trying to hide?

Readings  Genesis 28:20-40:11

 mexico2005 121

Will the real Miguel please stand up?

It would be easy for these young ones to deceive us with who is the real one.

Genesis 31:41
41 “These twenty years I have been in your house; I served you fourteen years for your two daughters and six years for your flock, and you changed my wages ten times.”

 

Dear family,

Deceit.  That is the word that describes much of the reading of the passage above.  It began in chapter 27 with Jacob deceiving his father and did not stop there.  We see Laban tricking Jacob into marrying Leah first.  (I do not understand how a man can not know who he is with, even with a veil and in the dark.)  Then after a week, he gets to marry Rachel.  Then throughout Jacob working for Laban, his wages are changed again and again.  Finally when leaving Laban, Jacob takes off without telling Laban, and Rachel steals her fathers idols.  And she hides the idols in her camel’s saddle, sits on them, and then says she is on her period, so she can not stand up.  She gets away with it.  

It doesn’t get any better.  After Shechem rapes Jacob’s daughter, her brothers deceived the relatives of Shechem into believing they will let him marry her, and accept them.  Three days after circumcising all the men, Simeon and Levi went around killing all the men. 

Later on, after Judah’s sons both died, his daughter in law, Tamar was left to not have another husband.  She then deceived her father in law by dressing like a temple prostitute and ended up getting pregnant.  When he found out she was pregnant, he was going to have her killed for immorality.  Talk about a double standard.

(I am glad that I never was deceitful.  That piece of plastic vomit that I put on the floor to fool my mom doesn’t count!  And those peas I tried to hide in my napkins.  Staying up late in my bedroom and then faking like I was asleep.  Or, watching the football game when my dad walked by, only to change it to the prohibited program.  Telling my parents I was going one place when I was on my way to TP another house.  Dropping out of a class, saying I wanted to work, when the truth was I was scared to death to give an oral report.  How many times trying to look a certain way and feeling just the opposite.  I need to stop, I am getting depressed.  I think of the verse in Jeremiah 17:9
9 “The heart is more deceitful than all else And is desperately sick; Who can understand it?

Thank goodness that God knew my heart and He still died for me, you too! 

 Romans 5:8 
8 But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.

My mentioning my deceit doesn’t support my approval for you to do it.  Listen on.)

Joseph enters the picture, what a breath of fresh air.  No deceit with him.  However, he probably would have done better keeping his mouth shut with the dreams he was having about his family bowing down to him, especially after his dad gave him the special coat representing his favored position.  But Joseph proved his integrity, time and time again, after being sold into slavery, being accused falsely by Potiphar’s wife, and then being forgotten in jail.  

No, we do not have to live a life of deceit! 


20 “I have been crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself up for me. Galatians 2:20

What are you trying to hide?

Let’s trust in Him and leave the deceit to history. 

We will continue to see the faithfulness of God as we read on. 

As I was on my way to work this morning meditating on what I read, these words from a song came to mind. 

“My hope is built on nothing less than Jesus blood and righteousness.  I dare not trust the sweetest frame, but wholly lean on Jesus name.  On Christ the solid Rock I stand, all other ground is sinking san

Thankful for His righteousness,

 Steve

Don’t try to hide.  Click on comment above the post and share with us.

2 thoughts on “What are you trying to hide?

  1. With regard to deceit I remember two things. 1) God knows my heart. 2) “Love one another as I have loved you.” There isn’t room for love and deceit in the same place. If one is present the other cannot be.

    Shalom,
    ~Kim

  2. I am thankful for the new heart that He gives.

    The promise to Israel, is a promise to those of us in Christ. We are partakers of the New Covenant.

    Ezekiel 36:26
    26 “Moreover, I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit within you; and I will remove the heart of stone from your flesh and give you a heart of flesh.

    James mentions that a fountain can not send out both fresh and bitter water. I pray that love will flow to all in our contact today.

    Steve

Leave a Reply

