Never thought

Readings Galatians 6:1 

 zipline1

 Never thought I would do this!  Did you know those are ropes attached to harnesses that are sown together with thread?

 I wanted to meet the seamstress first, but had to jump anyway.

 

Dear “never thoughters”,

Ever thought that something that happened to one person would never happen to you?

Never thought I would call my kids the wrong names, let alone call them my dog’s names.

 Never thought I would miss an appointment I had with someone else.

 Never thought I would teach a class with my zipper down.

 Never thought I would go to work with all the stickers still on my new pants.

 Never thought I would run through a stop sign.

 Never thought I would have had the thoughts that I have had.

 Never thought I would lose my temper.

 Never thought I would fail to love my wife unconditionally as often as I have.

Never thought I…………………..(too many other negatives).

 

Fortunately God chooses the foolish things, the weak things of this world to express Himslef through.

 So I can, we can, say the following.

 

Never thought I would be able to be used by God in the way that He has.

 

 I have been learning not to be so surprised by my own failures, but more importantly by God’s successes.

 I have learned that there is not much that separates me from where I am, and where I could be.  I am no better than anyone else.  By the grace of God, I am not where I easily could be.

 Galatians 6:1-2 (NASB95)
1 Brethren, even if anyone is caught in any trespass, you who are spiritual, restore such a one in a spirit of gentleness; each one looking to yourself, so that you too will not be tempted.
2 Bear one another’s burdens, and thereby fulfill the law of Christ.

 We each also have the privilege and honor to be used by God to help others be restored to right relationship with God and the rest of His family. 

 To be able to participate in this process, we simply must be a child of God, indwelt by His Spirit.  As we walk with Him, we can be used by Him.  All of us as followers of Christ, should seek to be available to God.

 Let’s not shy away from reaching out to those who may be stumbling around us.  Just be gentle toward those that have fallen,  and pray to God that He will protect you from the evil one, recognizing your potential to fall as well.     

1 Corinthians 10:12 (NASB95)
12 Therefore let him who thinks he stands take heed that he does not fall.

Listen to how it sounds in the Message:

 1 Corinthians 10:12 (MSG)
12 Don’t be so naive and self-confident. You’re not exempt. You could fall flat on your face as easily as anyone else. Forget about self-confidence; it’s useless. Cultivate God-confidence.

 

Looking forward to seeing  and hearing God in action through you!

 

Love,

Steve

 

Feel free to comment.

Leave a Reply

