Did I say that?

Readings   I Corinthians 7-8 

 

Didn’t I tell you about the bathrooms?

Dear fellow communicators,

The statement above should have been mentioned earlier.

Here are a few statements that maybe should be left unsaid. 

To a wife, “That sure isn’t the way mom used to make it!”

To a friend who just completed a new tiling project in the kitchen, “I would have made the design different than that.”

To a passenger waiting to get on a plane, “Did you hear about the plane crash yesterday?”

To a girl you asked out on a date for dinner, “Hey, do you have thirty bucks I can borrow for dinner, I must have left my money at home?”  

Or how about the statement a comedian named Flip Wilson would always say, “The devil made me do it.”

After reading I Corinthians 7 a phrase reminded me how the Devil is very active in tempting believers along with his multiple cohorts. 

1 Corinthians 7:5 (NASB95)
5 Stop depriving one another, except by agreement for a time, so that you may devote yourselves to prayer, and come together again so that Satan will not tempt you because of your lack of self-control.

We must be on guard, yet we do not have to give in and say the devil made me do it.

Jesus took care of him on the cross. 

Colossians 2:13-15 (NASB95)
13 When you were dead in your transgressions and the uncircumcision of your flesh, He made you alive together with Him, having forgiven us all our transgressions,
14 having canceled out the certificate of debt consisting of decrees against us, which was hostile to us; and He has taken it out of the way, having nailed it to the cross.
15 When He had disarmed the rulers and authorities, He made a public display of them, having triumphed over them through Him.

Sure, he still is running around this world seeking whom he may “devour”, but he has no authority over us as believers.  Recently when I may be struggling with my attitude or thoughts, I remind myself and “whoever” is listening, that I am a child of God, that I have been bought with the blood of Christ, that I am forgiven and indwelt by Christ’s Spirit, that the devil and his crew have no authority over me. 

I get chills just saying it and remembering my position in Christ.  And if my mind is being tempted by one of our enemy’s followers, he can hear my faith in Christ, and recognize the blood covers me and he has no power over me.  If it is simply my flesh rearing it’s ugly head, I am reminding myself who I am in Christ and that Christ is in me.  Either way I am able to benefit by the knowledge and power of Christ within. 

When you are struggling with temptation, try speaking aloud who you are in Christ.  That you are God’s child, and the devil has no hold on you.  Remember the blood!  Remember your forgiveness.  Remember you were crucified with Christ.  You no longer live, but Christ lives in you! 
Romans 7:24-25 (NASB95)
24 Wretched man that I am! Who will set me free from the body of this death?
25 Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord! So then, on the one hand I myself with my mind am serving the law of God, but on the other, with my flesh the law of sin.

Romans 8:1-2 (NASB95)
1 Therefore there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.
2 For the law of the Spirit of life in Christ Jesus has set you free from the law of sin and of death.

Enjoy freedom in Christ!  Enjoy freedom from the devil.  You can’t use the excuse the devil made you do it!

IN CHRIST, 

Steve

Romans 6:1-7 (NASB95)
1 What shall we say then? Are we to continue in sin so that grace may increase?
2 May it never be! How shall we who died to sin still live in it?
3 Or do you not know that all of us who have been baptized into Christ Jesus have been baptized into His death?
4 Therefore we have been buried with Him through baptism into death, so that as Christ was raised from the dead through the glory of the Father, so we too might walk in newness of life.
5 For if we have become united with Him in the likeness of His death, certainly we shall also be in the likeness of His resurrection,
6 knowing this, that our old self was crucified with Him, in order that our body of sin might be done away with, so that we would no longer be slaves to sin;
7 for he who has died is freed from sin.

Leave a Reply

