“The Lord will Provide”

Readings  Genesis 22

Genesis 22:6-8 (NASB95)
6 Abraham took the wood of the burnt offering and laid it on Isaac his son, and he took in his hand the fire and the knife. So the two of them walked on together.
7 Isaac spoke to Abraham his father and said, “My father!” And he said, “Here I am, my son.” And he said, “Behold, the fire and the wood, but where is the lamb for the burnt offering?”
8 Abraham said, “God will provide for Himself the lamb for the burnt offering, my son.” So the two of them walked on together.

What do you hope was provided the most before this picture was taken?

How about deodorant?

Fortunately money was provided so we could purchase a water tank in this town.

Dear Body,

Last week I had a few issues.  I guess every week I have issues.  First of all I was trying to replace some blades on our lawn mower.  Too bad I was trying to loosen the bolt by tightening it instead.  When I finally figured out which way I was to turn it, I had rounded off the head of the bolt.  Thankfully someone invented a product to help provide help for someone like me.

Then, when I was on the way to a wedding I needed to perform, 20 minutes into the way there, I felt like my feet felt funny.  When I looked down, I realized that I still had my old brown shoes on with my suit.  I had worn them out back when I walked the dogs so I wouldn’t get my good shoes dirty.  Fortunately my son was able to grab my shoes and meet me half way, and provide me with the proper attire.

There were some other things that make me wonder about myself at times.  I am so thankful that I do not need to depend on my performance/provision for eternal life.  I can’t even take a bolt off right, let alone obey God’s moral law.

What a story we read about in Genesis 22!  We see God asking Abraham to sacrifice his only son Isaac.  Abraham takes his son to the mountain to do just that, because he feared God, meaning he recognized that God is sovereign, almighty, and that he could trust Him completely, and obey Him at all cost.  But we see that God did not intend for Abraham to kill his only son, but God provided the lamb for the sacrifice.

Genesis 22:14 (NASB95)
14 Abraham called the name of that place The LORD Will Provide, as it is said to this day, “In the mount of the LORD it will be provided.”

What a picture of Jesus!  God provided the only perfect sacrifice for us, giving us His only Son.  Jesus had to carry the “wood” on His back, as Isaac had to carry the wood he was going to be sacrificed on.  Only Jesus was nailed to the cross and gave up His life for us.

I was listening to a message earlier today, and was reminded of the fact that:

Jesus gave His life for you,

so that He could give His life to you,

so that He can live His life through you.

Remember, we are the body of Christ.   Jesus was “limited” on earth living in one physical body nearly 2000 years ago.  Now Jesus is living in His body the Church, and this Church is now fulfilling the initial command of God, to be fruitful and multiply and fill the earth.  We are to image God throughout the world, having Christ live through us!  But are we really imaging God, letting Him live through us?

Reminds me of when Jesus said greater things will you be able to do because the Spirit of God will come and live within believers.  Jesus is able to be more than one place at one time as He indwells all believers around the world.  And He is now able to speak to so many more at all one time, wanting to provide life to all that will simply receive Him!

Praise God for Him being “The LORD will provide”!

Thankful for His unmerited favor, His marvelous grace,

Steve

Leave a Reply

