Finding self

Readings Matthew 10

Which hat should I wear?  Which one is me?

Maybe the third one up from the left.


Matthew 10:37-39 (NIV)
37 “Anyone who loves his father or mother more than me is not worthy of me; anyone who loves his son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me;
38 and anyone who does not take his cross and follow me is not worthy of me.
39 Whoever finds his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it.

Dear friends,

 

Some of you know my story well, others not so much.  I am not going to repeat it here.  I lived much of my life up till thirty totally frustrated with myself, longing to be secure in myself.  Much of my time was consumed with what others were thinking about me.  It paralyzed me so often.  I even trembled in fear for having to just stand in front of people and be a tree in a skit.  Finding contentment has not come in some self help book, or becoming self confident.  I still struggle with some of the same issues, but have found that in Christ I have everything, even if the whole world turns from me or on me.

Are you trying to find yourself?  Have you ever said, “I need to do this for me”?  Are you searching and searching for what you are to do in life?  Are you asking what is the truth about life?   Which way do you need to go?  Where can you find life?  Are you striving to change yourself so others will accept you?

John 14:6-7 (NIV)
6 Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.
7 If you really knew me, you would know my Father as well. From now on, you do know him and have seen him.”

It seems that if you know Jesus, then that is what really matters.  Letting go of self, leads to truly finding life.

These are counter cultural words today, as they were back then.

Do you believe them?  Do you believe Jesus?

Where is the balance?  Do you give up everything and live in poverty?  Do you reward yourself with the “good things” in this life?  What is considered self centered and counter productive?   How much time do you take in getting ready to go out in public?  What kind of clothes do you choose?  How much do you focus on your presentation of yourself?  You want to represent Christ well, so you want to look good, right?  What if you are living in a situation that is not fulfilling to you?   Do you  leave it?  Do you endure it?  Where do you find fulfillment?  Can you be content no matter what the circumstance?

Philippians 3:7-11 (NIV)
7 But whatever was to my profit I now consider loss for the sake of Christ.
8 What is more, I consider everything a loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them rubbish, that I may gain Christ
9 and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which is through faith in Christ–the righteousness that comes from God and is by faith.
10 I want to know Christ and the power of his resurrection and the fellowship of sharing in his sufferings, becoming like him in his death,
11 and so, somehow, to attain to the resurrection from the dead.

Philippians 4:11-13 (NIV)
11 I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances.
12 I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.
13 I can do everything through him who gives me strength.

So, tell me what do you need to find out about yourself to find fulfillment in life.  Is it in yourself or is it in Christ?  If you pursue Christ alone, is that enough?  Will He somehow take care of the rest?

John 10:10 (NIV)
10 The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.

 

We need to think on these things some more and put some things to rest.

In Christ,

Steve

Let’s add more to this later.

Leave a Reply

