Learning mercy!

Readings Matthew 9

These animals (pigs, for those that do not get outside the grocery store) are destined to be bacon on someones table.

They long for mercy!  If only Charlotte lived in this little pen, and could spin a special web for these four!  “WONDERFUL PIGS”

Matthew 9:12-13 (NIV)
12 On hearing this, Jesus said, “It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick.
13 But go and learn what this means: ‘I desire mercy, not sacrifice.’ For I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners.”

Dear law breakers,

Need to go back to Matthew 9.  I am memorizing the verses above.  The GO and LEARN stood out to me!  GO and LEARN what?  What this means: “I desire mercy, not sacrifice.”

This morning I was GOing to work, and on my way there I LEARNed something about mercy.  I was not paying attention to my foot on the pedal and came over a hill and was suddenly confronted with the fact that I was breaking the law.  Some flashing lights went on, and I quickly pulled off to the side of the road.

I had looked down quickly when I saw his car, and realized that I was going too fast.  I was guilty.

It was then that I had a first hand experience of learning about mercy.

The officer did not give me a ticket.  He let me off with a warning.  I drove away very thankful, and remain very thankful tonight.  That gift of mercy this morning carried over all day and on my way home, I had a great desire to continue to honor the law, and put my car on cruise control to keep from wandering from the speed limit.  Mercy is a wonderful thing!

In coming to Christ, placing our trust in Him, we receive the greatest mercy of all.  Deserving Hell, I was desperately lost till I turned from my sin, and received Jesus as my Lord, recognizing His death on the cross took my place, bore my punishment, so that I might be forgiven, so that I would not have to be punished, but might have everlasting life.  Talk about being happy!!

Now being in Christ, I need to continue to learn about mercy, that Jesus desires us to know mercy, and to show mercy to others.

I deserved punishment this morning as I was speeding.  But I received mercy.

Who in your life do you know that needs mercy extended to them?

Is there some family you avoid because they are not like you, they live a life that is contrary to yours, and to God’s ways?  Because of the way they live, they deserve the consequences that are coming their way.

The ones that  blew their money, they must face the consequences.

What about the person that lost their job because of some indiscretion?

The one that betrayed someone with a lie.

The young person that stole from you.

The “friend” that insulted you and others and now is estranged.

The neighbor that didn’t repay you, and now is in more trouble.

The spouse that broke your trust.

This is getting tough.

Where do we draw the line, and not extend mercy?

I am glad the officer did not draw the line this morning and not show me mercy.

I am forever thankful that God did not draw the line and not extend mercy to me.

Are there any of us that don’t desperately need it?

Have you received God’s mercy?

Who will you extend mercy to?

From whom will you withhold mercy?

GO and LEARN what this means:  “I desire mercy, not sacrifice.”

Loving mercy,

Steve

Leave a Reply

