What did you say you would do?

Readings:  Mark 11:27-12:12 

 

What if you said, “I will clean up after everybody, and then did not?”

Dear followers of Christ,

 Last Sunday during the morning “message” we discussed the authority of Jesus, and ultimately, were we allowing Him to have authority over us.  He does have complete authority, the question is, are we listening to that authority, what have we heard in the past that we are still failing to walk by?  The challenge was to consider what we have heard in the last year, or whenever, and be faithful in obedience to it.

 The religious leaders failed to take a stand on Jesus’ question to them, Mark 11:29-30 (NASB95)
29 And Jesus said to them, “I will ask you one question, and you answer Me, and then I will tell you by what authority I do these things.
30 “Was the baptism of John from heaven, or from men?AnswerMe.”

They thought they could ride the fence and say “We do not know.”  But in doing so, they were denying the authority of Jesus and continued to reject Him.  Jesus pointed this out very plainly in Mark 12:1-12 with the parable of the vine growers.  (Take time to read it.)  At the end of it, this was the leaders response:  Mark 12:12 (NASB95)
12 And they were seeking to seize Him, and yet they feared the people, for they understood that He spoke the parable against them. And so they left Him and went away.

Do we understand that being indifferent to the Words of Christ, is really an act of rejecting Him?

If my wife asks me to do something, and I ignore her, what does that say to her?

If I ask my son to take out the garbage or whatever else, and he walks away without a response, and the garbage remains, what is he telling me by his actions, or lack of actions?  Isn’t it a total rejection of my authority?  Or what if he says he will, and then willfully doesn’t do it?

This talk reminds me of Jesus’ Words in Matthew 21:28-32 (NASB95)


28 “But what do you think? A man had two sons, and he came to the first and said, ‘Son, go work today in the vineyard.’
29 “And he answered, ‘I will not’; but afterward he regretted it and went.
30 “The man came to the second and said the same thing; and he answered, ‘I will, sir’; but he did not go.
31 “Which of the two did the will of his father?” They said*, “The first.” Jesus said* to them, “Truly I say to you that the tax collectors and prostitutes will get into the kingdom of God before you.
32 “For John came to you in the way of righteousness and you did not believe him; but the tax collectors and prostitutes did believe him; and you, seeing this, did not even feel remorse afterward so as to believe him.

What is our/my response?  I would rather be numbered with the tax collectors and prostitutes.

So thankful for His mercy and grace.  So thankful I have today to follow Him!

That is what I told Him I would do.

What did you say you would do? 

Look to the cross.  Let His love change you and motivate you today! 

Steve

Step out in faith and “walk on some water” today.  Go where you have never gone before, and let Him do through you what you never thought possible.

Leave a Reply

