It is the thought that counts?

 

 

This is one yearly habit that I would like to do more of.  “Hobo Breakfast!”

Dear family,

 Sow a thought, you reap an act;

Sow an act, you reap a habit;

Sow a habit, you reap a character;

Sow a character, you reap a destiny.

                                    –Author Unknown

 You hear the expression, it’s the thought that counts.  Ask my wife how this would work. 

“I thought about going to work today.”  “I thought about buying you those flowers.”  “I was looking at some cards, and I thought about sending you one.”  “I thought about fixing that leak.”  “I thought about taking a walk with you.”  “I thought about filling your tank up with gas.”  “I thought about fixing dinner for you.”

Would this be her reply?  “Oh, Steve I love the thoughts you have for me.  Thank you so much!”

Yeah.

God has thoughts for us.  How can He do that and not me?  Well, you see His thoughts turn into action.  You can count on it.  That is why His words toIsraelmeans so much in Jeremiah.

Jeremiah 29:11-14(KJV)
11 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the LORD, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.
12 Then shall ye call upon me, and ye shall go and pray unto me, and I will hearken unto you.
13 And ye shall seek me, and find me, when ye shall search for me with all your heart.
14 And I will be found of you, saith the LORD: and I will turn away your captivity, and I will gather you from all the nations, and from all the places whither I have driven you, saith the LORD; and I will bring you again into the place whence I caused you to be carried away captive.

God is totally faithful.  His Word does not return void!

So, what do I do with all my thoughts, with the good ones that is, and there are a lot of them!?

Here is where I think we need to talk with a farmer.  Where isKentright now?  Going back to our little poem, how do we sow a thought?  We need to get beyond those thoughts.  If we do not get those thoughts in the “ground”, those habits will not appear, and some habits seem important.

In Luke 22, we see Jesus going out into the Garden to pray, as was His habit.  

Luke 22:39-40 (AMP)
39 And He came out and went, as was His habit, to the Mount of Olives, and the disciples also followed Him.
40 And when He came to the place, He said to them, Pray that you may not [at all] enter into temptation.

He encourages the disciples to pray so that they will not fall into temptation, that is sin.  Jesus prays and is tempted to avoid the cross, yet is consistent with following after the Father’s will. 

Luke 22:42 (AMP)
42 Saying, Father, if You are willing, remove this cup from Me; yet not My will, but [always] Yours be done.

He does not fall into temptation.  But the disciples will and do.

Seems that the habit of prayer is critical in our walk with the Lord and to keep from falling into sin.  It seems that memorization of Scripture is also vital! 

Psalm 119:11 (NKJV)
11 Your word I have hidden in my heart, That I might not sin against You!

How are your habits of prayer and memorization?  Seems like we need to get planting those thoughts, and memorizing His Word.  It is the planting season.  Any farmers or gardeners out there that can help us out?  Maybe we just need to get our hands dirty and dig in! 

What a great week to begin, as we celebrate God’s gift of forgiveness and Life!

Hoping your thoughts take root today, and your habits will flourish!

Love,

Steve

Leave a Reply

